Showing posts with label Coming of Age. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Coming of Age. Show all posts

Power Divided by S. Behr

Monday, April 6, 2020


Title: Power Divided
Author: S. Behr
Series: The Evolutionaries (Book 1)
Genre: YA, Coming of Age, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Behr Ink
Release Date: Jan 21, 2020
Edition/Formats: Digital & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:

Violet is the princess of Neyr, the third of the Nine Realms of Amera. At least, she was until the day came when Violet was to demonstrate her abilities to the people and solidify her place in Ameran Society. The citizens of Amera have extraordinary abilities, from living on the ocean floor to flying in the air. But no one can turn back time. When the unthinkable happens, tearing her heart and her family in two, Violet flees and is unable to escape a tidal wave of events that brings her face to face with forgotten truths buried for millennia. Only the discovery of a thousand lifetimes may provide the key to her return home. When old enemies arrive on the shores of Neyr, distrust and prejudice resurface. Secrets begin to explode all around Violet, setting her world on fire, and those she loves fall victim to a terrorists' plan to eradicate their enemies. But Amera stands in their way, and with no mercy, the enemy is willing to go through the innocent to get what they want. Violet turns to her best friend Lily, and a few unexpected new friends, who band together to save what they can of her realm, and the rest of Amera. But in the storm that has turned her world upside down, will Violet be able to overcome the nightmare of her past in order to save the future of everyone in Amera, and perhaps the world?

 



“This first volume in the Evolutionaries series skillfully balances intriguing worldbuilding, whose details are slowly revealed, with well-paced action sequences. It also ably handles Violet’s character development along the way while also offering a diverse, lovable supporting cast whose members become the protagonist’s close friends and allies. The novel effectively addresses themes of cooperation and isolationism as well as autonomy, consent, and moving on with one’s life after learning of long-held secrets.”
“A notable and thoughtful addition to the crowded shelf of post-apocalyptic YA novels.”  Kirkus Review

Book Links


I love a good story, in all artforms. I have been a professional photographer for nearly 20 years and I had to learn to tell a story with a click of a button and capture the layers of emotion in a single image. Little did I know it was boot camp for writing.
Being an author was a childhood dream and as I got older it seemed to be a dream that grew further out of reach with each passing year. But with encouragement from a lot of friends, new and old, my husband being my biggest cheerleader, The Evolutionaries series has begun with Power Divided.
To keep me company during my writing bubbles are my husband and our fur babies. They love whatever I write, even if they can't read it but they don't always love the music I write to. We all have to make sacrifices! And I am still pinching myself ever since I found out, that, recently I became a Featured Author. Power Divided will be in the Feb 15th Issue of Kirkus Magazine.
"This first volume in the Evolutionaries series skillfully balances intriguing world building, whose details are slowly revealed, with well-paced action sequences. It also ably handles Violet’s character development along the way, while also offering a diverse, lovable supporting cast whose members become the protagonist’s close friends and allies. The novel effectively addresses themes of cooperation and isolationism, as well as autonomy, consent, and moving on with one’s life after learning of long-held secrets." excerpt from Kirkus Review about Power Divided.
Extended Bio from Sbehr.com
STEPHANIE BEHR
It took a long time to realize that being half Chinese and half Filipino, (the country I was born in), then growing up in Texas from the time I was less than a year old, made me a child of many faces, traditions, and ideologies. Needless to say, it was confusing. But it was also amazing, and I am the person I am because of all the places my life has taken me so far, and the people I have met along the way.
When I met my husband, he was a rock star, and I was his biggest fan. His first gift to me was a camera, and without the support of Pushmonkey (his band), I might not have learned how much I love photography and made a career full of priceless moments. Now, Howie is my biggest fan. With photography, we got to work together, and it has taken us around the world. Who would have thought that would happen when I opened that gift, my very first camera?
Photography is the study of light. To capture a story in a moment and freeze emotions with a single click. To commemorate memories for future generations. I learned how to tell a story with a single image. Little did I know it would also be what started me down the path of wanting to tell stories with the written word.
                   SEE YOU IN THE NEXT BOOK!     

 Author Links
Twitter @sbehr_author





Review Okay Danny Boy Love Vol 3 by Felicia Johnson

Monday, December 3, 2018
Title: Ok Danny Boy: Love Vol. 3
Author: Felicia Johnson
Series: Ok Danny Boy Trilogy (Book 3)
Genre:  Young Adult to New Adult...Coming of Age
Publisher: S.P.E. Media, Productions and Publishing
Release Sept 29, 2018
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print
Rating:
Blurb/Synopsis:

Part three: "LOVE" follows Daniel after his treatment in Bent Creek Hospital into his recovery process.

The spin-off of “HER” is called “OK Danny Boy". This three part book series follows the story of an artistic and mysterious young man who Kristen meets during her stay in Bent Creek Hospital. Daniel proved to be a supportive peer, whom Kristen saw as a positive influence throughout her recovery. However, Daniel had not always been a role model. Daniel is diagnosed with Bi-Polar Disorder, OCD and Juvenile Diabetes. His story follows his journey throughout his healing and learning to cope with life’s transitions, coming of age, living with mental illness as well as a physical illness and the suicide of a close friend. Fans of “HER” will get to see what it was like on the other side of the Adolescent Ward.

Part one: "CHAOS" follows Daniel's life before he goes into Bent Creek Hospital during his mental breakdown.
Part two: "MONSTER" follows Daniel's story while he is in Bent Creek Hospital through his treatment.
Part three: "LOVE" follows Daniel after his treatment in Bent Creek Hospital into his recovery process.
*** This is the final part of a trilogy. However, the OK Danny Boy trilogy is a spin-off of her first novel called “HER”. Daniel is a character from “HER” and OK Danny Boy is his story. It is recommended to read “HER” before the Danny Boy trilogy but it is not necessary. It is important to read Ok Danny Boy volume 1 before you read volume 2 and volume 2 before volume 3. ***

Between the Shade and the Shadow by Coleman Alexander

Monday, June 18, 2018

Title: Between the Shade and the Shadow 
Author: Coleman Alexander 
Series: Beyond the Realmless Collection (Book 1) (Interconnected Standalones)
Genre: Coming of Age Dark Fantasy 
Release Date: June 21 2018
Edition/Format: 1st Edition / Format ~ eBook and Print 
Blurb/Synopsis: 
In the deep heart of the forest, there are places where no light ever shines, where darkness is folded by pale hands and jewel-bright eyes, where the world is ruled by the wicked and kept by the wraiths. This is where the Sprites of the Sihl live.
But Sprites are not born, they are made. On the path to Spritehood, spritelings must first become shades. They do so by binding a shadow: a woodland creature, who guides them through their training. Together, they keep from the light and learn to enchant living things, to bind them, and eventually, to kill them.
Ahraia is a shade who has bound a wolf for a shadow, as strong a shadow as there has ever been. But while her wolf marks her for greatness, Ahraia struggles with the violent ways of her people. Illicit as it is, she would rather be running wild beneath the moons. But a test is coming, and the further she and her shadow wander out of the darkness, the deeper they wander into danger. Ahraia’s time is coming and what awaits her at the end of her test will either make her or kill her . . .

Review Ok Danny Boy Monster Vol 2 by Felicia Johnson

Tuesday, March 6, 2018


Title: Ok Danny Boy: Monster Vol. 2
Author: Felicia Johnson
Series: Ok Danny Boy Trilogy (Book 2)
Genre:  Young Adult to New Adult...Coming of Age
Publisher: S.P.E. Media, Productions and Publishing
Release January 8, 2018
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:
The spin-off of “HER” is called “OK Danny Boy". This three part book series follows the story of an artistic and mysterious young man who Kristen meets during her stay in Bent Creek Hospital. Daniel proved to be a supportive peer, whom Kristen saw as a positive influence throughout her recovery. However, Daniel had not always been a role model. Daniel is diagnosed with Bi-Polar Disorder, OCD and Juvenile Diabetes. His story follows his journey throughout his healing and learning to cope with life’s transitions, coming of age, living with mental illness as well as a physical illness and the suicide of a close friend. Fans of “HER” will get to see what it was like on the other side of the Adolescent Ward.

Part one: "CHAOS" follows Daniel's life before he goes into Bent Creek Hospital during his mental breakdown.
Part two: "MONSTER" follows Daniel's story while he is in Bent Creek Hospital through his treatment.
Part three: "LOVE" follows Daniel after his treatment in Bent Creek Hospital into his recovery process.
*** This is part of a trilogy. These are the first two books in the OK Danny Boy series. The third book is to be released this summer. However, the OK Danny Boy trilogy is a spin-off of my first novel called “HER”. Daniel is a character from “HER” and OK Danny Boy is his story. It is recommended to read “HER” before the Danny Boy trilogy but it is not necessary. It is important to read Ok Danny Boy volume 1 before you read volume 2. ***

Review Ok Danny Boy: Chaos Vol 1 by Felicia Johnson

Wednesday, February 21, 2018


Title: Ok Danny Boy: Chaos Vol. 1
Author: Felicia Johnson
Series: Ok Danny Boy Trilogy (Book 1)
Genre:  Young Adult to New Adult...Coming of Age
Publisher: S.P.E. Media, Productions and Publishing
Release June 18, 2017
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:
The spin-off of “HER” is called “OK Danny Boy". This three part book series follows the story of an artistic and mysterious young man who Kristen meets during her stay in Bent Creek Hospital. Daniel proved to be a supportive peer, whom Kristen saw as a positive influence throughout her recovery. However, Daniel had not always been a role model. Daniel is diagnosed with Bi-Polar Disorder, OCD and Juvenile Diabetes. His story follows his journey throughout his healing and learning to cope with life’s transitions, coming of age, living with mental illness as well as a physical illness and the suicide of a close friend. Fans of “HER” will get to see what it was like on the other side of the Adolescent Ward.

Part one: "CHAOS" follows Daniel's life before he goes into Bent Creek Hospital during his mental breakdown.
Part two: "MONSTER" follows Daniel's story while he is in Bent Creek Hospital through his treatment.
Part three: "LOVE" follows Daniel after his treatment in Bent Creek Hospital into his recovery process.

*** This is part of a trilogy. These are the first two books in the OK Danny Boy series. The third book is to be released this summer. However, the OK Danny Boy trilogy is a spin-off of my first novel called “HER”. Daniel is a character from “HER” and OK Danny Boy is his story. It is recommended to read “HER” before the Danny Boy trilogy but it is not necessary. It is important to read Ok Danny Boy volume 1 before you read volume 2. ***


Release Day Blitz The Southern Night Series by M Never

Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Title: the Southern Night Series 
Author: M. Never 
Series: Southern Night Series
Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance/Coming of Age 
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Cover Design: Cover Me Darling, LLC
 Blurb/Synopsis
Kamdyn Ellis is the man. Mr. All-Star athlete and resident bad boy. #7 quarterback on the field, and #1 player off. Every guy at school wants to be him, and every girl at school wants to date him. Well, except Laney Summers that is. The sassy city girl is the only one immune to Kam’s clear blue eyes and arsenal of southern charm. But when a debilitating injury sidelines Kam’s future and ability to play football, it’s Laney who is tasked to be his tutor while he recuperates at home. The chemistry between Kam and Laney is undeniable, and after months of ignoring what’s clearly evident, Laney gives in. Allowing herself one night with Kam, no strings attached, no commitment to speak of. Alone, under the stars, on the fifty-yard line, Kam and Laney set out to discover if what they have is real, or just one steamy southern night. The Southern Nights series is a compilation of three novellas following the story of Kam and Laney, an all-star football player destined for greatness and the sassy city girl who challenges him on every level. This collection is steamy, fun, flirty and full of heart!

Blitz Before I Break by Alec John Belle

Friday, August 7, 2015
Title: Before I Break
Author: Alec John Belle
Genre: Coming of Age/Fiction
Publisher: Self - Published
Release Date: July 30 2015
Blurb/Synopsis:

"When religiously raised Cyril Hayes begins his junior year at East Hill High School, every choice he makes suffers a greater consequence.  While facing challenges of friends, family, and love, he learns that hate and intolerance are also a very large part of our world today.

Cyril Hayes is seemingly just like any other male his age. He has the perfect girlfriend, Melissa Summers, his best friend, Jake Rivers, and a lawyer father who brings home enough money to support his family and then some. When Cyril begins his junior year, he doesn't expect his life to spiral out of control when he meets Avery Branson, the new kid in school who has a big secret: he's gay. At first, Cyril doesn't handle this truth well, due to the way he was raised, but as the story progresses, he ventures deep into the reality of homosexuality and begins to accept Avery for who he is.

Not everyone is happy with Cyril's new friend, including Jake, who believes that homosexuality is a sin and is refusing to budge his beliefs. But Avery isn't the only one at East Hill with secrets. Soon a tragedy will strike, knocking Cyril's world completely off balance and leaving a scar on his heart that will change his view of humanity all together."







Alec John Belle is an online high school student that resides in the state of Massachusetts. At the age of 16 he wrote his first novel, Before I Break. His hobbies include reading, writing, and obsessing over Pretty Little Liars. He writes about tough topics that many are too afraid to talk about like suicide, homosexuality, self harm, cyberbullying, anxiety disorders, addiction, among other teenage issues, and he often blends these ideas with the paranormal

Twitter
Facebook





"Alec John Belle’s bold debut novel, Before I Break, introduces a courageous new author with a voice unafraid to tackle tough social issues."


Alex Sanchez, author of Rainbow Boys and The God Box


Review Silently Still by Julieanne Lynch

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
 

Title: Silently Still
Author: Julieanne Lynch
Series: Stand Alone 
Genre: Young Adult Coming of Age 
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: May 19 2015
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print

Blurb/Synopsis:

Everyone is entitled to making their own choices in life, but a decision can make or break you. For Jacinta Kelly, hers came in the form of running away from everything that reminded her of her roots. Living in rural Ireland was hard enough, but living with her mother’s mental illness and her obsession with her garden took its toll. One winter, the world as she knows it changes. Jacinta becomes aware of her own mortality, and how fragile her existence truly is. Alone and frightened; to live or die, the choice is hers.


Review Twisted by Lola Smirnova

Monday, May 25, 2015
Title: Twisted
Author: Lola Smirnova
Series: Twisted (1)
Genre: Dark Suspense Thriller/Coming of Age/New Adult
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: Jan 26 2014
Edition/Synopsis: eBook & Print
Source: Author for Honest Opinion
Rating:
Blurb/Synopsis:
Back in the 90’s, the corrupt post-Soviet Ukraine with its faltering economy, is thrown into a devastating depression. Times are hard. Opportunities are scarce.

Three eager young sisters – Natalia, Lena and Julia - dream of a better life and weigh their options: do they stay and struggle like their parents, or join scores of their compatriots in the sex trade in glittering western European cities, who earn in a night what they’d take several months to earn at home? Naive and tempted by the allure of 'quick' money, the girls set off on an adventure that changes their lives forever...

Can they stay out of trouble enough to fulfill their ambitions?
Can they hold on to their idealism in a world where depravity and danger are constant companions?
How far are they willing to go to make a buck?

Inspired by real-life events, Twisted is a fascinating New Adult SUSPENSE THRILLER about vulnerability, courage and the art of making a living in the sex trade...

'TWISTED' IS THE FIRST BOOK OF A PLANNED TRILOGY. 

Spotlight Truth in Lace by Tempeste O'Riley

Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Truth in Lace by Tempeste O’Riley Desires Entwined, #3.5 Gay, Gender fluid, Contemporary, Coming of Age Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Release Date: November 5, 2014 (ebook) Length: Short / 24 pages   Order: Dreamspinner Press All Romance Add to: Goodreads   Description:
When Alexander James Noble looks in the mirror, he sees a freak looking back at him. Despite his high grades and plans for culinary arts school after graduation, his parents would hate him if they really knew him.
Forced on a shopping trip with his twin sister, Lyric, and her friends, Alex eyes the girls jealously, longing to be able to dress like them—to be them. The constant struggle of being “gender fluid,” wrestling with an identity that seems to change daily, begins to wear on Alex. But all those questions and fears seem more manageable when his sister gives him his first skirt and lace panties.
Other Stories by Tempeste:  
Designs of Desire (book 1) Simple Desires (Part of the Grand Adventures Anthology)
Praise:   “I found it a beautiful tale of unhappiness changed to romance and then love with a happy ending.”
—Rainbow Book Reviews, on “Designs of Desire”
“Tempeste O’Riley clearly has designs on our attention with Designs of Desire, a story as heart breaking as it is heart warming."
—Sensual Reads, on “Designs of Desire”
“The writer did an excellent job with the characters, they are likable and perfect. Not perfect in the way that they have no flaws, but in a way that they grab you and complement each other.”
—Love Bytes Reviews, on “Temptations of Desire”
  About the Author:
Tempeste O’Riley is an out and proud pansexual gender fluid whose best friend growing up had the courage to do what she couldn’t–defy the hate and come out. He has been her hero ever since.
Tempe is a hopeless romantic that loves strong relationships and happily-ever-afters. Though new to writing M/M, she has done many things in her life, though writing has always drawn her back–no matter what else life has thrown her way. She counts her friends, family, and Muse as her greatest blessings in life. She lives in Wisconsin with her children, reading, writing, and enjoying life.
Tempe is also a proud PAN member of Romance Writers of America®, Rainbow Romance Writers, and WisRWA. Learn more about Tempeste and her writing at http://tempesteoriley.com.
Website Goodreads Twitter Facebook Google + DSP Blog



Cover Reveal Revealing Kia by Airicka Phoenix

Friday, October 25, 2013
Title: Revealing Kia
Author: Airicka Phoenix
Series: The Lost Girl Series, book #2
Publisher: Fire & Ash Publishing
Release date: Nov 2013
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Coming of age Romance
Warnings: Language and Sexual Content
Formats: eBook & Paperback

The events of Claudia’s party were nothing more than a distant memory as far as Kia was concerned. She was ready to resume her life as though that night had never happened. But it’s a slippery slope keeping a secret and Kia’s about to learn just how hard when she’s faced with the truth and the consequences of her decision.
Adam Chaves was no stranger to girls wanting him. He was no stranger to breaking hearts, although never intentionally. What he didn’t understand was how Kia could undress him, touch him, burn him with her eyes and still keep him at arm’s length when it was evident how much it cost her. But what Kia didn’t realize was that he had never given up on anything in his life and he wasn’t about to start now. He would have his girl even if it meant he had to kidnap her to do it.





Airicka Phoenix is the best-selling author of the Touch Series with short stories in Whispered Beginnings: A Clever Fiction Anthology and Midnight Surrender Anthology. When she's not hammering away at the
keyboard, she can be found banishing pirates or crawling through the attic looking for lost treasure with her kids. She loves baking, gardening and reading. She also likes to travel and take pictures of everything she comes across. When asked, Airicka describes herself as a sarcastic basket case that has an unhealthy addiction to chocolate, old movies and really bad jokes. She loves to laugh, make friends and write. If she could have one wish granted, it would be to spend one day as a fly-on-the-wall inside Stephen King's mind. If she could have two wishes granted, she would ask for a castle dedicated entirely to her overwhelming collection of books. For more about Airicka, also on how to win giveaways, read author interviews and reviews, visit her website at: http://airickaphoenix.com/Author


Places to find Airicka



Places to find When Night Falls

Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile 


ShareThis