;;

ShareThis

Showing posts with label Dawn Kirby. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dawn Kirby. Show all posts

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 9 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, June 1, 2018


Part 9

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 8 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, May 25, 2018


Part 8

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 7 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, May 18, 2018


Part 7

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 6 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, May 11, 2018


Part 6

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 5 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, May 4, 2018


Part 5

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 4 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, April 27, 2018


Part 4

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 3 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, April 20, 2018


Part 3

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 2 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, April 13, 2018


Part 2

Flash Fiction Friday ~ Claimed Part 1 by Dawn Kirby

Friday, April 6, 2018


Part 1

Giveaway & Review Secrets by Dawn Kirby Blog Tour Kickoff

Thursday, May 1, 2014
Title: Secrets
Author: Dawn Kirby
Series: Serenity Series (#1)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Twisted Core Press L.L.C
Release Date: April 2013
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:

Leah has locked away secrets her entire life; secrets from her friends, secrets from her mother. To Leah they were simply quirks. Little things she couldn't explain...phenomenal senses, light sensitivity, the ability to read people using their unique scents.
The darkest secret of all was hidden inside Leah. A secret her mother, Mia was determined to keep silent. Trusting an old friend with her daughter's safety, Mia kept Leah's secret well-guarded. A vow made long ago never to let the monster that took Leah's father step foot in their daughter's life again.
In a fit of revenge fueled by years of jealousy, Mia's secret is revealed, throwing Leah's life into a free fall. A trail of blood and bodies soon follow Leah wherever she goes.
Leah is suddenly thrust into a world she never knew existed; A world as fascinating as it is deadly. Beings foreign to her step in to protect her. As Raine takes his place beside her, he is forced to face a few secrets of his own.
Will they uncover the secrets that bind them? Will they succumb to the devil himself?

Author Take Over with Dawn Kirby

Thursday, January 16, 2014


Okay my wonderful readers I have a special treat for you I have the Lovely Dawn Kirby the author of the Serenity Series here today and she has wrote the second part of her short Flash Fiction {Claimed} for all of us to enjoy. So Grab a drink and enjoy this Flash Fiction Short.  


Part 2


“Come with me,” Adam said. He got up and offered his hand. I took it, allowing him to guide me through the cold creek.

“Where are we going?” I asked, dodging a branch. 
“My house,” he answered. “You need food, warmth and clothes. After that we can talk.”

“About what?” I asked. I looked behind me and smiled. Had someone told me earlier my run would end with a romp in the woods with Adam, I would have thought they were nuts.  “I think it’s safe to say we both got what we wanted.” 

He stopped suddenly and yanked my naked body to his. His amber eyes twinkled much brighter than they had before as his fingers raked down my back. Our lips locked. My hands slid around his waist and up his back, settling in his hair until he broke away. 

 “I want more,” he growled. Keeping my hand in his, he continued through the brush. “I wasn’t kidding when I said I’d stake a claim of my own.”

I stopped in my tracks, stunned. Fear gripped me. Yes he’d said that, but I thought it had only been said in the heat of the moment. When my hand slid from his, I thought about running. But to where? Home? No, I wasn’t ready to face my uncle again. I didn’t want to face him again. And now there was this. 

Adam turned on his heel, rolled his eyes and grabbed my arm again. Whether I wanted to move or not, I followed him. All the while my mind was reeling. How could I have been so damn stupid? He’d said neither pack had a good leader. How could I have let passion get the best on me like that? How could I have let my guard down like that? Especially with a leader as aggressive as he’s known to be.

Before long the trees gave way to grass. I looked up from the ground to see a cobblestone path lit by solar lights. Rose bushes lined each side leading us to a huge two-story log home. Adam pushed open the heavy oak door and ushered me inside. He gestured me into what I could only assume was the living room. While he threw logs into the fireplace I stood there, watching and waiting. 

“My room’s upstairs and to your right,” he said, his back to me. He tossed another log into the fire and dusted off his hands. “There’s a spare robe in the closet.” He stood up and looked at me. A sly smile spread across his face. “Not that I think you need it. You could walk around here like that all night and I’d be fine with it.”   

I nodded my head and started to go upstairs. He rushed to me. My eyes quickly found the floor. No matter what had happened between us, I was still out of my element. I was still an outsider. 

He raised my chin, forcing me to look at him. “You’re uncomfortable?”

I crossed my arms over my chest nervously. “Honestly?” He nodded. “I’m scared.”

“Scared? Why on earth would you be scared? I don’t remember threatening you. I don’t remember hurting you.” He raised an eyebrow. “Well, anymore than called for.”

“I’m not part of your pack, Adam,” I whispered. “I shouldn’t even be here.”

“But you are. And I intend to keep you here.”

“More territory?”

“Isn’t it natural?” he asked. “To take what your uncle offered to the imp he gave you to? Why should he have it and not me? I’m ten times the man he is. Wouldn’t you agree?”

“From what I know of you, yes.” From what I’d just experienced…hell yes. 

“Then what’s the problem?” He sat down on a cushy brown leather couch, looking up at me. “Well?”

“First, as soon as my uncle finds out I’ve gone out without an escort he’s going to confine me to the house indefinitely. When he finds out I’ve been with you.” I stopped there because I didn’t even want to begin to go there just yet. “Second, you know what going after two packs is going to start. It won’t be pleasant.”

“You’re no longer your uncle’s problem,” he said firmly. “If he even tries to come in here and take you away he’ll see what me and my pack are made of. As for the other,” he waved his hand as if he was swatting a fly. “If I didn’t think I could handle it, I wouldn’t bother.” 

He reached out to me. There was something oddly comforting in the way he looked at me. I took his hand and sat beside him. I was torn between the Adam I’ve seen and the Adam I’ve heard about. One was warm and friendly. The other was a force to be reckoned with.      

“You make it really hard to believe all those rumors about you,” I told him. 

“Make no mistake, I can be vicious if pushed. Hurt me, betray me, play me and you’ll see first hand. That I promise you now.” I stiffened a little, knowing what the harsh tone in his voice meant. I’d heard my uncle use it plenty of times before. “Look, I’ve been patient. I’ve sat on my hands waiting for your engagement to fall apart. Now that it has, I can have everything I deserve.”

I wanted to ask him what the hell he meant by all of that, but my mouth refused to work. Four years? He’d been plotting this for four years? 

“I see he never told you.”

“Told me what?” He was undoubtedly my dear, old uncle. 

“My dad went to him years ago. He assumed your dad had told him what they had planned before your parents were killed. Hell everybody else knew, including you.  It didn’t matter though. He dismissed everything and handed you to that useless son of bitch while you still in that damn hospital.”

“Wait a second.” I couldn’t wrap my head around it. My parents had been killed in a car accident. I’d been badly injured and put in a medically induced coma for months after. Thanks to that, remembering them was hard enough. Trying to remember a conversation I may or may not have heard was impossible. “We were? My dad promised me to-”

  “Sure did.” He looked at the ceiling and back down at me. “I’ve still got all the paperwork upstairs. Never could bring myself to throw it away.”

“Why didn’t you say anything?” Not that I had seen him often. A few pack events here and there. “Why don’t I know this?”

He shrugged his shoulders. “You were hurt pretty bad. I wasn’t surprised when you couldn’t remember me. Anyway, I had to let it fall apart on it’s own. Had I interfered at all, I would have been accused of sabotage. Besides, I had a pack to build up on my own. Not to mention a life.”

“And if I don’t this? If I don’t want you?”

“Say you don’t.” 
“Could be lust.” I couldn’t say I wasn’t attracted to him. “You are a very handsome man.”

“I never claimed to love you,” he said dryly. “Stay with me because the sex is good.” 

“I’ve only had you once. What’s to say good is the norm?” 

“The same can be said for you.”

“Is that a challenge?” I asked him. 
“An observation.”

Something clicked inside me. The same something that had clicked when I’d finally been brave enough to call off my engagement. At that moment all I wanted was to set myself free. At this moment all I wanted was Adam. Again. To hell with politics. To hell with family. To hell with love. It was time to let fate lead me.

I straddled his body and kissed him. His hand dug into the back of my head. He wanted me as much as I wanted him. Not willing to waste another second, I lifted my hips and let him fill me again. His fingers bit into my hips as I rolled them around him. 

His hands locked onto my shoulders, forcing my hips into his. Our bodies grinded together. Sweat rolled down my cheeks. He licked it away sending chills down my spine. I tightened the muscles inside me. He moaned and bit my lip. I bit back, drawing blood. Nothing on this earth had ever tasted so good. It seemed to excite him more than it did me. 

His thrusts came deeper, harder. I felt my body convulse, spent. His hold tightened even more. I braced against his strength, his speed. He kissed me again, the bitter taste of blood still on his lips. I broke and hugged him to me. His hips jarred against me. Sweet pain cut through me. I bit down hard on the soft skin of his neck. My nails tore down his back leaving bloody marks in their wake. I squeezed my legs into his. His hand ripped through my hair as he came. I collapsed against him, breathless and exhausted. 

“Challenge met,” he said with a chuckle.

“I should say so,” I whispered. I sat up to look at him and saw the blood on his bottom lip. “Sorry about the blood. I’m not sure what got into me.”

He wiped it away and smiled. “Don’t be. Lets me know I’m doing something right. Besides, a little pain in my experience can be a good thing.”

“Glad you think so. Your back may not agree with you later though.”

“I’m sure I’ll live.” He patted my leg, gesturing me off. I scooted to the side to allowing him to stand.  “You’ll stay?” I nodded. “You’ll let me handle this situation my way?” I nodded. “That could mean breaking ties with your uncle.”

“I realize that,” I told him. 

He narrowed his eyes at me. “You aren’t much for loyalty, are you?”

“How ‘bout I’m tired of everybody else telling me what I should be doing with my life. Just once I’d like to make my own mistakes. I won’t say this isn’t wrong, it may very well be. But for once it’s my choice to make.”

“Fair enough,” he said rubbing his chin thoughtfully. “Tell me, when it comes to you who makes the decisions? I know your uncle has the final say, but how many others are involved? 

“My aunt and cousin. Uncle Ben’s betas. Other than that, I’m not sure.”

“Good, good.” He glanced at something behind me and then cleared his throat. “Go get a shower. I’ll whip up a little something to eat and we’ll figure things out from there. Sound good?” 

 “Sounds like a plan to me,” I said. Something felt off. I stood up and looked to see if I could see what had caught his eye before, but didn’t see anything other than the fridge. Maybe he was as hungry as I was?  

“Let’s get busy then,” he said. He saw our reflections in one of the picture windows and laughed. “Maybe I should grab some clothes myself. Hot grease and bare skin don’t exactly mix well.”

He showed me upstairs, handed me his spare robe and left me to take a shower. I turned on the water and hovered by the door waiting until I heard his closet door open. When it did I cracked the bathroom door a little. I hadn’t dismissed his reaction to whatever he’d seen downstairs and I regardless of what I said, I didn’t plan on walking into this with blinders on. Living the way I had for the past few years I’d discovered nothing comes without strings. 

I heard his phone ring. He quickly answered it. “I told you to wait for my call,” he growled into the headset. “If she had seen you. Next time I give you an order, you better damn well follow it.” 

I heard footsteps coming down the hall. I looked through the crack in the door to see a skinny blond man walk into the room. He had a smile on his face and a definite spring in his step.  

He shook Adam’s hand and hung up his phone. Adam tossed his on the dresser and finished getting dressed. 

“So what’s the plan?” the blond man asked. “She seems willing enough.”

“Nothing’s changed,” Adam told him. “She knows the score. This is business and sex.”

“Damn good sex from what I saw,” Blondie snorted. I felt my face flush. 

“I’m not complaining,” Adam said. “That son of bitch she was engaged to was doing something wrong with that one.”

“We don’t all have your magic touch, Adam.” He handed Adam a piece of paper and sat down on the bed. “I got the numbers you asked for. If we’re doing this, we better do it now. They’re already out looking for her.”

“I knew they would be. She’s their biggest asset.”

“You call Hunter and Logan. Tell them I need them here now. I’ll handle the rest. Don’t get complacent on me either. Once Ben finds out she’s mine now all hell is going to break loose.”

“You asking for the money too?”

Money? There’s money? I strained my ears harder not wanting to miss a word. 

“I don’t want it, it’s hers,” Adam told him. “I doubt she knows it’s there though. Doc can look at the legalities later. Right now all I’m interested in is her, territory and avoiding a pack war.”

“That’s inevitable,” Blondie said, shaking his head. “Like you said, you have Ben’s biggest asset. Without her he’s nothing.”    



If you have enjoyed this short please share some love for the author. I have asked Dawn to be a regular with Flash Fiction Shorts.







I'm a wife, a mother, a writer and a dreamer. I spend my days working a full time job, caring for my husband of 16 years, my kids; Tristan, Aishlynn and Shelby and our growing number of pets. My nights are for my stories; my paranormal world and the many characters I've come to love. My writing career started with a nagging idea that refused to go away and has blossomed into a raging passion. Now I can't imagine my life without a pen and a piece of paper in my hand. 

Places to find Dawn


Places to find Secrets
Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile



Giveaway and Author Take Over With Dawn Kirby

Wednesday, October 30, 2013


Okay my wonderful readers I have a special treat for you NO tricks here. I have the Lovely Dawn Kirby the author of the Serenity Series here today and she has wrote a short Flash Fiction for all of us to enjoy. She is even Giving Away a Signed Copy of Secrets book #1 in her Serenity Series. So Grab a drink and enjoy this Flash Fiction Short.  

I dashed through the brush, darting through trees, dodging stumps and fallen limbs; loving the feel of the wind as it blew through my coat. The rumble of thunder shook the ground beneath my paws. Lightening lit up the black sky. I veered off my normal path when the rain started to fall, wanting the night to last as long as possible. 

I needed the cool, crisp air to clear my head. Work was hectic. A tense four year relationship with my ex fiancé had ended. Because of our inability to work it out the future of two packs were now hanging in balance. A fact my uncle had taken to drilling into my head daily since I’d told him about the break-up. Stress was killing me and running was the only way I knew how to let it melt away, if only for a short while. 

As I approached the creek I froze. In my haste to escape the world I’d gone too far. Standing in the water not fifty feet in front of me was another wolf. A big wolf. An alpha wolf. A wolf I’d only dreamed of being alone with… Adam.   

I backed away hoping my white coat hadn’t given me away. As I backed away a twig snapped under my paws. The chocolate brown wolf ran at me, eyes intent, emotionless. Frozen, I waited for the inevitable. I was in his territory. I was alone and no one knew I where I was. 

His snout connected with my side, nearly knocking me onto my side. Despite my situation, I stood my ground, knowing he could smell my fear. Suddenly a solo run didn’t sound like such a good idea. 

He stalked around me, sniffing here and there as he went. I lowered my head letting him know I knew who he was. He mouthed the back of my neck. No teeth, but his grip was firm. I fell to the ground, submitting. 

A familiar surge of energy pulsed through my body. With a soft glow the wolf I was faded away leaving me in my human form naked, cold and exposed. Adam sat on back hunches. He turned his head as if contemplating his next move. I sat unmoving while he walked slowly around me once again.  

As he rounded my body to face me, his amber eyes stayed fixed on mine. I felt the energy around me surge again. As the animal made his way up the length of my legs a soft glow radiated through his body changing him from wolf to man. 

I let out a sigh. There he was in all his glory. Long, brown hair. Intense eyes. Perfect lips. Lean, strong body. Long, toned legs. Big, calloused hands. His eyes as a human as intense as those of a wolf. A predator studying his prey.  

“I’m sorry, I-“ I whispered. He put his finger to my lips and shook his head. My body trembled. “Please let me exp-“

“No need,” he said softly. “Had I been offended you’d already be dead.”

My body tensed. Not knowing what to do next I kept completely still. This was his territory and his rules. I was at his mercy until he decided what to do with me.

“Jenna, is it?” he asked. I nodded. He smiled and ran his hand up her thigh. “I thought so. I’ve watched you.”

Dumbstruck, her mouth fell open. “Me?” 
I had been within arms reach of him many times during pack get-togethers and such, but as far as I knew he’d never once looked my way. He had his choice of women. Not to mention his hands full with his own pack. 

“You.” His smile grew wider.  

“Why? I’m- . And you’re-“

“Yeah, there is that,” he said shrugging his shoulders. He folded his legs under him and put his other hand on her cheek. “But what kind of man would I be to turn down a beautiful woman when she wanders so willingly into my backyard?”

“Again, I apologize,” I said. My breath caught as his thumb began to caress the inside of my thigh. “I wasn’t thinking.”

“Obviously,” he said with a sly smile. “I assume your failed engagement brought you to me?”

I nodded my head. “He’s moving the last of his stuff out now. I had enough of the fighting and left.” 

“Interference from both sides?”

“Of course,” she answered.  

“Not to be unexpected. You two were supposed to merge two packs.” Again I nodded. He looked down at his hand on my thigh and then back up at me. “Forgive me for saying this, but neither pack has the leader they deserve. “Even if your relationship had been successful it wouldn’t have made a difference. Weak stock.”

I stiffened. Was he calling me weak? “Excuse me?”

He laughed and rocked up on his knees. His eyes changed. I saw hunger in them know. “No, not you.” I could feel his breath on my lips. He put his knee between mine, inching closer. “Him. Had he been what he should be he would have had you followed.  A real alpha doesn’t willingly let his possessions go.”

“Possessions?” I whispered.

“You were his to protect. To love. To cherish.” His tongue brushed across my lips. “He failed. Though I dare say, his loss may be my gain.”

“How so?” I asked. My heart was pounding in my ears. This was all wrong, but I didn’t care.  

His free hand drifted to the back of my neck, running his fingers through my long black hair. My body began to tremble. His amber eyes, now brighter than before locked onto mine. My skin was on fire. He knew I wanted him. Whether I wanted him to know or not; whether I was ready or not, he knew. 

“I stake a claim of my own,” he growled. 

He pressed his lips to mine. Resisting at first, I gave in, pulling him closer to me. Fear and doubt gave way to passion. Real honest to God passion.  Embracing it for the fist time in a long time I let him take the lead. 

Adam leaned against me, pressing my body to the ground. I dug my hands in his hair keeping his lips on mine for a long as possible. He pulled my head back, nibbling his way down my neck. As his rough hands raked down my sides, I arched my back and closed my eyes. God, his fingers felt good. 

My eyes shot open when he bit down on my nipple. Pleasure replaced pain as his tongue rolled around it. Slow at first and then faster.  I dug my fingers into his hair and pulled. He squeezed my breasts and started to nibble the very tip of my nipple. When he switched sides he rubbed the palm of his hand over my exposed breast. 

His hands moved slowly down my stomach. His tongue coupled with the periodic drops of rain sent little jolts of electricity up and down my spine. I dug my nails into his shoulders pushing him further down. I wanted to feel his lips, his tongue all over me. 

I practically melted when I felt the warmth of his tongue lick my clit. He pushed my legs further apart and settled into a crouched position, licking gently the entire time. I adjusted my hips. His tongue slid inside me. I grabbed his head urging him to go in deeper. He wrapped his arms around my thighs and squeezed, lifting my hips off the ground. I rolled my hips against his tongue. Just when I thought I couldn’t take more, he forced me still and sucked hard on my clit. Waves of pleasure ran through me. 

He looked up at me, the hunger I’d seen before now at its peak. He let my legs go and laid down on top of me. I wrapped my legs around his hips as he slid inside of me, filling me. My hips rocked against his. His thrusts slow but hard. Our lips locked. This time the kiss more forceful, more intense, more needful.

I ran my fingers up and down his back, my nails barely touching his skin. His lips broke from mine. He put his head in the curve of my neck and moaned. His thrusts grew faster, more determined. 

We rolled over, me on top of him. I sat up and smiled. As I wiggled my hips, pressing down as hard as I could against his pelvis, his eyes rolled back into his head. His body stiffened. His fingers bit into my calves. I leaned down, brushing my nipples across his skin and licked the curve of his neck. 

In a flash he was behind me. The rain started to fall faster. I felt his fingers twist into my tangled hair as he yanked my head back and pushed me down on all fours. He rammed into me. I gasped and braced myself. The wolf inside had taken over. 

His thumbs pressed hard into my sides. He rubbed the palms of his hands against my breasts. I moaned as his fingers traveled down and in-between my legs. I swayed my hips from side to side. He slid in and out again and again as he gently massaged my clit. My body trembled.  

Suddenly his fingers dug into my hips as he slammed into me with the force of a jackhammer. I arched my back and let him use me. He needed it and so did I. I’d held back for far too long. He forced himself in deeper. My fingers burrowed into the wet ground.  Thunder rumbled. Lightening flashed around us, driving our passion to a new level. I pushed against him and spread my legs further apart. He moaned, moving faster still. 

I felt the end approaching fast and moaned. His thrusts slowed, but the force was still there. My body convulsed. I felt the muscles inside me tense around him, trying to hold him there for as long as they could. Within seconds I felt him cum. He collapsed against me. He put his arm around my waist and pulled me to the ground with him. Breathless and spent; our bodies limp with sweat and rain, we lay beside each other face to face.

I looked into his eyes, sensing something different though I didn’t know what. His hold tightened around my waist. I didn’t fight it. One night with him had been better than four years with my ex. No matter what happens after I leave, I’ll always have that. 

If you have enjoyed this short please share some love for the author. I have asked Dawn to be a regular with Flash Fiction Shorts.




a Rafflecopter giveaway


I'm a wife, a mother, a writer and a dreamer. I spend my days working a full time job, caring for my husband of 16 years, my kids; Tristan, Aishlynn and Shelby and our growing number of pets. My nights are for my stories; my paranormal world and the many characters I've come to love. My writing career started with a nagging idea that refused to go away and has blossomed into a raging passion. Now I can't imagine my life without a pen and a piece of paper in my hand. 

Places to find Dawn


Places to find Secrets
Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile



New Cover for Secrets by Dawn Kirby

Thursday, April 25, 2013
Title: Secrets 
Author: Dawn Kirby
Series: Serenity Series (#1)
Publisher: Twisted Core Press
Release Date: April 23 2013
"Human" is in the eye of the beholder.
Leah has locked away secrets her entire life; Secrets from her friends and secrets from her mother. To Leah they were simply quirks. Little things she couldn't explain...phenomenal senses, light sensitivity, the ability to read people using their unique scents. The darkest secret of all was hidden inside Leah. A secret her mother, Mia was determined to keep silent. Trusting an old friend with her daughter's safety, Mia kept Leah's secret well guarded. A vow made long ago never to let the monster that took Leah's father step foot in their daughter's life again. In a fit of revenge fueled by years of jealousy, Mia's secret is revealed, throwing Leah's life into a free fall. A trail of blood and bodies soon follow Leah wherever she goes. Leah is suddenly thrust into a world she never knew existed; A world as fascinating as it is deadly. Beings foreign to her step in to protect her. As Raine takes his place beside her, he is forced to face a few secrets of his own. Will they uncover the secrets that bind them? Will they succumb to the devil himself?



I'm a wife, a mother, a writer and a dreamer. I spend my days working a full time job, caring for my husband of 16 years, my kids; Tristan, Aishlynn and Shelby and our growing number of pets. My nights are for my stories; my paranormal world and the many characters I've come to love. My writing career started with a nagging idea that refused to go away and has blossomed into a raging passion. Now I can't imagine my life without a pen and a piece of paper in my hand. 


Places to find Dawn




Places to find Secrets

Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile


Interview, Guest Post, & Review with Dawn Kirby Author of Secrets

Thursday, August 9, 2012
I have a treat for you guys today. Let's welcome Dawn Kirby with her new Novel Secrets. Dawn was fantastic enough to let me pick her brain with an interview and she was even nice enough to rewrite one of my favorite scenes from a different POV. So make sure to read all the way to the end and share some love maybe ask Dawn a question.


Title: Secrets
Author: Dawn Kirby
Series: Serenity Series #1
Publisher: Dark Dragon Publishing Company
Release Date: July 29, 2012
Edition: Print
Rating: 
Genre:


GoodReads Synopsis
It is said that the truth will set you free, but for Leah it kills.
Leah always knew she was different. From her extreme light sensitivity, to her ability to read people by their auric scent, she kept these differences secret. 
Not even Mia, Leah's mother, knew the fullness of her daughter's differences, but she held even greater secrets to Leah's past - the truth about her father and Leah's conception.
With the escape of an old foe, Mia is too late to reveal to her daughter the thrush before Judith can exact her revenge in a wash of blood and death.
Thrown into a world unheard of, Leah discovers that she is not alone in keeping her secrets. That there are people from her parent's past who would die to protect her. If only she knew why.
Raine, placed as her protector, hides deadly secrets of his own. Drawn to each other, Leah and Raine must uncover the truth before one or both are killed.