Interview & Series Spotlight The Chrysomelia Stories by Molly Ringle

Wednesday, June 1, 2016
NEW-ADULT TRILOGY REVIVES ANCIENT GREEK MYTHS IN MODERN ROMANCE
Immortal’s Spring Is The Third Book In A Successful Series That Weaves Reincarnation With Timeless Love
In A New Story Of Greek Gods Persephone And Hades
Delta, BC – Central Avenue Publishing is proud to present Immortal’s Spring, the final book in a
trilogy by Seattle author Molly Ringle. Fans have been enchanted by this saga of Persephone and
Hades, whose ancient love affair is reawakened in the memories of two modern-day youths.
For millennia, myths worldwide have inspired and fascinated young women and men. Greek
mythology in particular remains wildly popular in fantasy fiction today, thanks to its colorful range of
archetypal characters to learn from, and adventures to enjoy. Molly Ringle's trilogy of novels,
beginning with Persephone's Orchard, now joins this tradition. Retelling the myth of Persephone
and Hades as a love story brimming with magic, it spans both the modern day and Bronze Age
Greece, presenting the myths in fresh new ways.
“The series has received a significant amount of positive response from readers and reviewers
around the world,” says Michelle Halket, Publisher for Central Avenue Publishing. “Molly has woven
an intricate and detailed world where ancient gods are reborn in current day students and sets a
story of true love and good-against-evil amongst the magnificent backdrop of the Pacific Northwest.”
Immortal’s Spring will be available everywhere on June 1, 2016. Further details about author
appearances will be available at the author’s website at mollyringle.com.
Ringle is also the author of several other novels, including the award-winning The Ghost
Downstairs. She is best known for winning the 2010 grand prize in the Bulwer-Lytton Fiction
Contest, a tongue-in-cheek challenge in which entrants are invited to compose a deliberately bad
opening sentence for a novel. The contest is named for English novelist Edward George BulwerLytton,
author of the much-quoted first line, "It was a dark and stormy night."
Central Avenue Publishing is an independent press based in Delta, Canada, featuring writers of
original fiction, poetry, and creative non fiction. They are also the publisher of the internationally
acclaimed and widely-followed Iain S. Thomas, of the poetry and photography blog I Wrote This For
You. Central Avenue’s books are distributed globally by Independent Publishers Group based in
Chicago.



Sophie Darrow said yes once to a young man offering a realm of Greek gods
and immortality. Now her home has been shattered, and her friends and family
pulled along with her as they run from an evil cult and take shelter in the
gloomy Underworld. To love, trust, and smile again seems almost out of
Sophie's reach. But remembering the life of the original Persephone and her
fellow immortals long ago may prove the best therapy, as well as their key to
victory.
In ancient times too, the murderous cult Thanatos attacked and eventually
wiped out the Greek immortals who sought to bring good to humankind. But
those immortals planted seeds in both their realm and ours to ensure that their
season would bloom again someday. And spring is finally coming.
June 2016
978-1-77168-040-0
$16.95US $19.95CA 448 pp
New Adult, Mythology
Book 3


New immortals are being created for the first time in thousands of years. But
Sophie Darrow is not one of them. Nikolaos has given the last ripe immortality
fruit to two others, the reincarnations of the gods Dionysos and Hekate: Tabitha
and Zoe, currently Sophie's and Adrian's best friends.
While Sophie struggles to remember her friends from ancient Greece, she
must still face her daily life as a mortal university freshman. Tabitha and Zoe
have their own struggles as they come to terms with their own haunting
dreams of past lives and loves. The evil committed by Thanatos invades all of
them in heartbreaking memories, and worse still, Sophie and her friends know
their enemies are determined to kill again. And even the gods can't save
everyone.
June 2014
978-1-77168-016-5
$19.95US $21.95CA 410 pp
New Adult, Mythology
Book 2

The Greek gods never actually existed. Did they? Sophie Darrow finds she
was wrong about that assumption when she's pulled into the spirit realm,
complete with an Underworld, on her first day at college. Adrian, the
mysterious young man who brought her there, simply wants her to taste a
pomegranate.
Soon, though she returns to her regular life, her mind begins exploding with
dreams and memories of ancient times; of a love between two Greeks named
Persephone and Hades. But lethal danger has always surrounded the
immortals, and now that she's tainted with the Underworld's magic, that danger
is drawing closer to Sophie.
June 2013
978-1-926760-98-8
$19.95US $21.95CA 370 pp
New Adult, Mythology
                                                                      Book 1

Fans of Abandon and The Goddess Test will be enchanted by this trilogy of Persephone and
Hades, whose ancient love affair is reawakened in the memories of two modern-day youths.


Molly Ringle became fascinated with the
colorful weirdness of the Greek myths when
she was a kid, and after writing several other
novels of love and the paranormal, she finally
wrote the Persephone-and-Hades story that
had been evolving in her head all those years.
It turned into a three-book series, much to her
own surprise. She lives in the Pacific Northwest
with her husband and sons, and she honestly
loves the rainy climate there.
@MollyRingle
facebook/mollyringle
mollyringle.com
PRAISE
"This was a beautiful story, and I'm really excited to see how it unfolds in future installments of the series."
~ Kaitlin Bevis, author of Persephone

"This novel jumps right into the action and doesn’t look back! Readers of all kinds, and especially those that
enjoy paranormal fiction, will be instantly intrigued by the spirit world and the reincarnations of ancient Greek
gods who are able to travel there." ~ San Diego Book Review

"You don't want to miss this one! If you enjoy reading about Greek Gods, the unique spin on this tale, action,
mystery and romance will keep you turning page after page until you reach the spectacular ending that has
you asking Ringle, "Where are on Earth is the sequel?" Definitely recommended." ~ JC's Book Haven

"If you love Greek mythology, particularly the story of Hades and Persephone, then you should definitely add
Persephone’s Orchard to your TBR list. I was very impressed with Molly Ringle’s reworking of the myth, and I
can’t wait to see what she has in store for the rest of the series." ~ Rally the Readers

"I felt a deep connection with this beautiful retelling of this Greek Myth, (which is my favorite) and how she
has wound it all together into this delectable story. I believe Ms. Ringle's readers will be enthralled by this
journey too!" ~ A Bookish Escape

"This reinvention of Hades, Persephone, and the rest of the Greek gods is fascinating, creative, and breathtaking.
A perfect blend of the old myth and the present day. And the love between the two main characters is
aww-worthy. You will laugh, cry, and wish for more." ~ Such a Novel Idea

Interview

This novel seems like a detour from your contemporary fiction. Why did you choose to
switch genres?
True, I've written YA (or NA, more specifically), and I've written paranormal, but I hadn't written a book
that was both yet. Even in The Ghost Downstairs, the ghosts are real but are still part of an otherwise
ordinary world. So certainly this is much farther into the fantasy realm than my usual. Basically I wrote
it because I've loved Greek mythology since I was a kid, and the myth of Persephone and Hades in
particular seemed tailor-made for a paranormal romance.

How did you get the idea for the story?
This story has been in my head a long, long time. I wrote my first draft of it about 17 years ago. That
version was called Letters From Hades, and it's the one that really captivated my family and
friends. They still asked me about it even as I wrote other books and got them published. So when I saw the
popularity of paranormal romance emerge in the publishing world, including several Persephone/Hades and
other Greek-myth stories, I thought I might as well fix up my version and add it to the heap. I gave the novel
a complete rewrite, and ended up loving the whole exercise far more than I expected to.

How do you think your background in anthropology and linguistics helped shape this
and other works you’ve done?
I'm that annoying person who points out, "They wouldn't even be able to understand each other!" in
movies involving time travel. So I do make myself consider issues like dialect or language differences.
For Persephone's Orchard, that included quandaries like: what do the souls speak in the Underworld? How
can they all understand each other? I also tried to find out more about Kiwi dialect and slang, since Adrian is
from New Zealand. But I bet I still got some of his usage wrong, and I feel bad about that. For my UKrelated
novels, I had British friends read through them and fix things, but I don't actually know any Kiwis to
run my manuscripts by. As for anthropology, I did look up information about the Mediterranean in Minoan
days so I could sprinkle in some details that might feel realistic. Whether they really are realistic, I cannot be
sure--classical archaeology is not my specialty, but it is really cool stuff.

What are your top five favorite books and why?
There are countless books I've loved, but I'll list these five because I've re-read them several times and
love what they do for me:
Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë. It's one of the world's earliest, best, and most enduring examples of a heartfelt,
charming first-person narrator. Plus it's a dramatic and satisfying love story.
Les Misérables, Victor Hugo. I re-read it last summer and it overtook my life once again, just as it did the first
time or two I read it. I was completely submerged in France in the early 1800s for a while there. But I'll be
nice and tell you that you don't have to read the unabridged. Start with an abridged version; then, if you love
it, go back in for the unabridged.
A Room with a View, E.M. Forster. Light and lovely and romantic and witty, it's an antidepressant in book
form. I wish I could always feel the way I feel when I'm reading A Room with a View.
The Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling. Hope that's not cheating, listing a whole series. Sure, it's got plot
holes, but I still find the books totally addictive and fun and moving. Great example of literature that can
appeal to both kids and adults.
The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien. Again, actually a series, or one really big book. But I had such a major
fandom phase for this one a few years ago that I would be remiss in not listing it.

And finally: If you could eat the pomegranate, would you?
Hah! I would pretend to say that's a difficult question too, but who am I kidding? I don't even avoid
spoilers for TV shows and books. In fact, I kind of seek them out. So, yeah, I'd eat it. It'd be cool and
instructive to learn about past lives. Now, if the pomegranate showed us our future, then no, I wouldn't eat it.
I think people are better off not knowing the future. But knowing the past? That's probably a worthwhile
experience on the whole.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts. :) HAPPY READING !!!!

ShareThis