Review City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Friday, August 2, 2013
Title: City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: Mortal Instruments (#2)
Genre: YA/Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
Publisher:  McElderry Books
Release Date: March 25 2008 (Original Published Date)
Edition: Print
Source: Purchase

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City's Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

Cover Reveal Torch by Cambria Hebert

Thursday, August 1, 2013
  Hey everyone!! SO happy to be here today to kick of a brand new series in a brand new genre for me!!!! TORCH is the first book in the Take It Off series. This is a New Adult Contemporary series that is recommended for readers 18+. Before I explain more let me show you the cover!!
Torch by Cambria Hebert ebooksm
Title: Torch
Author: Cambria Hebert
Series: Take It Off (A sexy series of stand alone novels all in the new adult contemporary genre)
Genre: New Adult Contemporary
Published: Cambria Hebert
Release Date: August 23, 2013 (ebook will be $2.99)
Format: Ebook and Paperback
Cover Design by: Regina Wamba at Mae I Design
I am in love with this cover.
***This is a new adult contemporary novel and contains sexual content and graphic language. It is not intended for young adult readers.***
If you can’t take the heat… stay away from the flame.
Katie Parks has been on her own since the age of fifteen. All she’s ever wanted is a place to call her own—a life that is wholly hers that no one can take away. She thought she finally had it, but with the strike of a single match, everything she worked so hard for is reduced to a pile of smoking ash. And she almost is too.
Now she’s being stalked by someone who’s decided it’s her time to die. The only thing standing in the path of her blazing death is sexy firefighter Holt Arkain.
Katie’s body might be safe with Holt… but her heart is another story.
As the danger heats up, sparks fly and the only thing Katie knows for sure is that her whole life is about to go up in flames.

Cover Reveal Evanescent by Carlyle Labuschagne

Wednesday, July 31, 2013
Title: Evanescent
Author: Carlyle Labuschagne
Series: Broken Series
Genre: YA/Sci Fi/Paranormal 
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: Nov 1 2013
Only his touch can save her from The shift that threatens them all.

Within my blood runs a thing our kind calls The Shadowing Disease. It shadows over, and bends everything to its will. When the first blood- shift came, it tore through flesh and blood, threatening to bend me, break bone, shatter my mind and entrap my heart with its honeyed, seductive poison. It came with vicious intent, moving my thoughts and altering me forever. The shift has caused a rift within me.I feel myself slipping away. No one was safe when it entrapped me in its claws of foul lust. But I have the only antidote against the evil that becomes me – his touch alone has the power to release the spurs of sweet darkness that clung on for dear life. I knew what I had to do; the desperation pulled my mind with the deep determination of a hungry predator. But by the time the revelation raised me from the dark dungeon of my bounds – it might have been too late.

Carlyle Labuschagne is a South African Debut Author working her way into the hearts of international readers with her First Young Adult Dystopian Novel “The Broken Destiny. She is not only an author but works as a Sales Rep and Marketing Manager by day. She holds a diploma in creative writing through the writing school at Collage SA. Loves to swim, fights for the trees, food lover who is driven by her passion for life. Carlyle writes for IU e-magazine India, an inspirational non-profit magazine that aims at inspiring the world through words. The drive behind her author career is healing through words. Carlyle is also the founder of the first annual book drive - Help build a library in Africa project.  

“My goal as an Author is to touch people's lives and help others love their differences and one another.” 

A firm believer in - YA saves!

Place to find Carlyle

Places to find Evanescent 

Title: The Broken Destiny
Series: Broken Series
Genre: YA/Science Fiction/Fantasy/Dystopian

Publisher: SBPRA
Release Date: August 13 2012

Ava knows much more, and feels much more than she is allowed to. When she starts questioning her origins and the destruction of Earth, things go horribly wrong for her. She is saved by a Minoan boy from an attempted kidnapping on her life – the perpetrators are evil Zulus and their dark ancient magic. Humans and Minoans are forbidden to interact with each other, and as she is taken back to their village she finds out why – they know of her, her kind and her destiny to save a dying race. Ava must rid them from the Council’s ruling and free the galaxy of The Shadow. Her destiny is to rise above the fall, because within her soul is the key to an archaic weapon that has been missing in the mix of a genetic code since the time of the ancients. As the prophecy unfolds she learns of her bloodline – a bloodline that makes her less human than she could ever have imagined. She alone has the power to destroy or save, but the mind-shift is a horrible thing. Ava will become what she hates to save the ones she loves. Beaten, poisoned, possessed and betrayed by her own emotions, she has no choice but to rise above it all… for that is her Destiny. 

Places to find The Broken Destiny

Cover Reveal Yours, For Now by Siren Allen

Tuesday, July 30, 2013
Title: Yours, For Now
Author: Siren Allen
Genre: Erotic/BDSM
Publisher: Entranced Publishing
Release Date: 23 September 2013

The question: "Would you like to try BDSM with me?"
Elizabeth Kemp never thought she'd ask friend and colleague, Preston Lancaster to be her submissive. Even more surprising, he agrees – on one condition: she has to return the favor. Her two weeks as his Domme end with a dramatic climax she wasn't prepared for – she's hopelessly in love and terrified he'll break her heart.
Dr. Preston Lancaster has been in love with Elizabeth since the day they met. His two weeks with her are more than he ever imagined, but when the tables are turned, she refuses to make good on her promise to reciprocate. Preston isn't giving up without a fight, but he's not fighting for two weeks of dominance anymore. He's fighting for forever.
Can Preston convince Elizabeth that her heart is safe with him – or will two weeks be all he has?

Hi, my name is Siren Allen. I’m a writer and lover of all things erotic and romantic. I reside in southern Mississippi where I write steamy romances that are guaranteed to make you blush. When I’m not listening to the characters in my head and jotting down their adventures, I am busy working as a Clinical Laboratory Technician. 

I love to travel, preferably with my husband, so he can do all of the driving. I enjoy time with my family, who are just as silly as I am. I have no children…yet, wish me luck! My hobbies are reading, writing and shopping, though I hate trying on clothing. If I wasn’t a writer or a Laboratory Professional, I would probably be a Secret Agent. But that’s the beauty of being a writer; you can create your own world and be whoever you want to be. In my imaginary world, I am Queen and my siblings are my minions.

Places to find Siren 

Places to find Yours. For Now

Interview & Spotlight Dear Rockstar & Buried Secrets Emme Rollins

Title: Dear Rockstar
Author: Emme Rollins
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: Contemporary Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Fido Publishing
Release Date: July 1 2013

The best things in life are crazy…

Sara is obsessed with rock star Tyler Vincent, and as she works to complete her senior year, she’s determined to find a way to meet him—although her best friend, Aimee, keeps telling her to find a different escape from her desperately violent home life.

Complications arise when Dale, the mysterious new transfer student, sets his sights on Sara, and she falls for this rock-star-in-the-making in spite of her better judgment. When Sara wins a contest, she is faced with a choice—travel to Tyler Vincent’s home town to meet him, or stay and support Dale in a Battle-of-the-Bands hosted by MTV.

Their triangulated relationship is pushed to its breaking point, but there is another, deeper secret that Dale’s been keeping that just may break things wide open...

Turn up your collar, feather your hair, and splash on some Polo, because we’re going back to the ‘80’s when MTV played music videos, there was no such thing as American Idol, and becoming a star meant doing nothing short of crazy for that one, big break.

Spotlight The End Of The World Playlist by Dan O'Brien

Monday, July 29, 2013

Welcome to the fifth day of the The End of the World Playlist blog tour. It will run until August 1st and will feature excerpts and new author interviews each day. But first, here is the obligatory blurb about the novel to settle you into this dystopian world:

The world as we knew it had ended. Deep in the mountains of the west coast, six men survived. In the town of River’s Bend, these six friends continued on with their lives as zombies inherited the Earth. As they navigated the world that had been left behind, the soundtrack of life played on.

A few questions for the author:

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done? 

I would like to think I will have done everything I said I would do. But who can know such things? I aspire to deliver on every promise that I have made to myself.

What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world? 

The way people talk to each and the level with which we think about things critically. I think that we too often denigrate another because we have not thought much about the content of their lives. I believe books offer an opportunity to create dialogues where they might not have otherwise been.

If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich? 

Writing, editing, and publishing. It sounds cliché to say that I do what I love, but that is the truth. I am a very rich man indeed.

Here be an excerpt for your enjoyment:

Track 5
I Am the Walrus

The sound of the engine was overwhelming, and the discussion was far from tame. Instead, it had reached a fevered pitch that bordered on accusatory. 

“Are you fucking kidding me? You think that Avenged Sevenfold has no business being on a playlist for killing zombies. Are you mental, man? Have you completely lost your marbles?” argued Will.

“Your question is: What belongs on an end-of-the-world playlist, correct? In the event of a zombie apocalypse, what would I want to be listening to?”


“So you agree that the choices would be purely subjective?”

“Of course.”

“Then what exactly is the point of getting all hot and bothered because I think your little band sucks balls. I’m sorry I’m not fawning over it.”

Will threw up his hands in irritation. “What does the brilliant music critic, Kenny of Bumfuck Nowhere, believe belongs on such an auspicious playlist as one that may be the last one you listen to?”

Kenny watched the road out of the corner of his eye. 

“Anything by She Wants Revenge.”

“But you don’t want any Depeche Mode?”

“Fuck Depeche Mode, they don’t sound anything like She Wants Revenge, man.”

“You have got to be the dumbest motherfucker ever if you think that there are no similarities between their music. A fucking deaf-mute could tell the similarity.”

“So your argument is: someone who couldn’t hear the music––and couldn’t convey their opinion about said music that they couldn’t listen to––could do a better job of figuring out what good music is than I could?”


Kenny shook his head. 

“And you call me dumb.”

“Not just dumb, bordering on retarded, I swear to fucking God. Your rationale is equivalent to the guy who really believes there is a difference between hamburgers from different fucking fast food places. A Big Mac is the same anywhere, same fucking shit, different fucking day, and different fucking half-a-tard wrapping it up in crunchy paper for you.”

“I am not saying that there aren’t similarities, but I would certainly not compare them in terms of musicality.”

“Musicality? Are you a musical prodigy now? You are about as much an artist as I am a lawn gnome.”

Kenny laughed heartily. “Did I hurt the little artist’s feelings? Should we talk about those wonderfully dumb graffiti murals you plaster all over our corner of hell?”

“Fuck you. Don’t switch the subject. What makes you such a discriminatory judge of music that you can decide for everybody what constitutes good music and bad music. I don’t mock your shitty taste in music.”

“That is because I don’t have shitty taste in music.”

“What the fuck ever, man.”

“You don’t like what I got to say, then feel free to shut your fucking trap.”

“Fuck that. What about Radiohead? You wouldn’t want to have some Radiohead or Marley? You gonna sit there and look me in the eyes and tell me you don’t want some Marley?”

“I am going to do exactly that. Fucking snore-fest, man. Give me ridiculous beats or give me death.”

Will turned and looked out the window. “Ridiculous. This ain’t over yet, man. We are coming back to this. You wait and see.”

Kenny laughed and shook the wheel, jarring the Bronco one way and then the other. “I’ll be waiting, poopy pants.” 


The interior of the van was not a verbal ruckus. Brandon drove. Allen sat in the passenger seat, his automatic rifle across his lap. 

Dan and Jesse remained in the back. The older brother sat on the medical bed that would serve as a medic station if necessary; Jesse had been a medical resident before all of the madness went down. 

It was a useful skill now. 

“Usual run, gentlemen,” called Dan.

“Doesn’t feel usual, boss,” replied Allen.

Jesse looked at his brother. 

“All feelings aside, grab what we have to and get out of there. No fucking around, no messing with the deadheads. In and out.”

Allen nodded grimly and Brandon stared coldly from the driver’s seat. “You want me to do what we talked about? Re-situate our dead guests?” asked Allen.

“You head to the Sports Authority. Brandon, you take an eagle locale with the .50 cal and keep an eye on things,” replied Dan.

“Right, boss,” called Brandon from the driver’s seat.

“Me and Jess will hit the library while tweedle dee and tweedle dumb hit Wal-Mart to pick up the Big Box shit.”

“And deadheads?” queried Allen.

“Try to keep the noise to a minimum and add bolts to those that are previously bolted. Kill any that have gotten loose.”

“Right, boss.”

The stereo was low and the music somber. 

“Are we expecting trouble?” 

Turning and looking at Jesse, Dan’s face was grim.


Bio: A psychologist, author, editor, philosopher, martial artist, and skeptic, he has published several novels and currently has many in print, including: The End of the World Playlist, Bitten, The Journey, The Ocean and the Hourglass, The Path of the Fallen, The Portent, and Cerulean Dreams. Follow him on Twitter (@AuthorDanOBrien) or visit his blog He recently started a consultation business. You can find more information about it here:

Would you like to win a copy of The End of the World Playlist?

All you have to do is comment on a post during the tour. Two randomly drawn commenters will be awarded either a physical or digital copy of The End of the World Playlist.

Visit and follow the blog for a chance to win a Kindle Fire!

Blog Tour Start Giveaway & Review Interchangeable by Kim Carmichael

Sunday, July 28, 2013
Title: Interchangeable
Author: Kim Carmichael
Series: 1Night Stand
Genre: Erotic/Menage
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Release Date: July 9 2013

Five years ago Dahlia Adair left her business partners, the two men she loved. Unable to choose between them, she vanished with their venture capital and their hearts. Betrayed by the woman they both love, Todd Shelton and Cooper Montgomery dissolved their company and their friendship.

When Todd and Cooper reunite, they can't move forward with their new business until they confront the woman who called them "interchangeable" before she disappeared.

Five years later, Dahlia wants to live without looking over her shoulder, Todd wants his love and his friend back, and Cooper wants answers. With the help of Madame Eve and 1Night Stand, they give Dahlia the chance to live free of repercussions for her crimes if she’ll agree to spend one night with them, vowing to make her aware of their differences, and offer her a life they're sure she can't refuse.

Giveaway & Guest Post Bidding Wars by Lacey Wolfe

Saturday, July 27, 2013
Title: Bidding Wars
Author: Lacey Wolfe
Series: Love Strikes (#1)
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: etopiapress
Release Date: May 15 2013

A sheriff plus a nurse plus a house equals trouble…

Nurse Molly Harper has had a tough year. But when she decides to regain control of her life, buying her dream house becomes her first priority. Finding the perfect house and falling in love with it—that’s the easy part. The hard part is getting rid of the obnoxious man who thinks he’s going to be the new owner. Even if he is gorgeous. And the sheriff…

Sheriff Luke Logan needs to buy a house. Getting out of the renting game will help in the custody battle for his son, so when the perfect place pops up right on his street, he can’t believe his luck. But there’s already an offer on the table, and the woman won’t back down. Too bad she doesn’t know that he always goes after what he wants, and he has no intention of letting her have “his” house. Even if she does make him feel that he might need more than just a house to make a home…

Giveaway & Guest Post A World Away by Lila Lacroix

Friday, July 26, 2013
Title: A World Away
Author: Lila Lacroix
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: June 20 2013

College sophomore Sophie Burnette has just been dumped by her boyfriend, is losing touch with her high school friends and is generally tired of her life in her small Midwestern city. When she sees an ad for doing a semester abroad, she jumps on the opportunity.

Philippe Vaillancourt is a graduate student with a turbulent past who can’t help but immediately fall for Sophie when she walks past him in the park one day.

Sophie’s heart, however, has already been captured by local photographer Jacques Lafleur who shows her a Paris Sophie couldn’t have dreamed existed. But when circumstances throw Sophie and Philippe together, and she begins to realize she’s heading down a dark and dangerous path, will Philippe be able to bring her back, or is Sophie already in too deep?

Book Trailer Blitz Copper Girl by Jennifer Allis Provost

Thursday, July 25, 2013
Title: Copper Girl
Author: Jennifer Allis Provost
Series: Copper Legacy
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Spence City
Release Date: June 25 2013

Sara had always been careful.
She never spoke of magic, never associated with those suspected of handling magic, never thought of magic, and never, ever, let anyone see her mark. After all, the last thing she wanted was to end up missing, like her father and brother.
Then, a silver elf pushed his way into Sara's dream, and her life became anything but ordinary.

I LOVE Indie Books Blog Hop

We all love Blog Hops ( I mean who wouldn't they are full of amazing prizes up for grabs) and we all Love Indie Authors. So Readers Realm & Indie Inked have decided to join forces and host an I Indie Books Blog Hop. So One My Stop on this hop I have the Lovely Susan Griscom talking to us about writing in the YA Genre and I will be giving away 5 eBooks of her YA Title Allusive Aftershock along with 5 eBooks of MaryLynn Bast YA Title Realm of Secrets part of her Heart of a Wolf Series. So Make Sure To Enter The Rafflecopter and when finished make sure you hop along to all the other stops and enter for more amazing prizes. 
Now The Lovely Susan will be taking over for a little while.

It’s not much different writing in the Young Adult genre compared to the adult. For Allusive Aftershock, the main challenge was taking myself back to my high school days and taping into my memories of the way things were and the way my friends and I dealt with things. Of course, so much has changed since then, like technology for the instance, but the emotions are the same with girls crushing on boys and boys crushing on girls. Technology really wasn’t an issue in this story, mostly because the earthquake destroys so much. But it’s comforting to know that young love never changes.
I was in love as a teenager and it was a strong, strong feeling for me. Being in love as a teenager, doesn’t mean it feels any less important. Love is love, no matter how old you are. We all change over the years, but there are so many people I know who fell in love in high school and years and years later are still together—although I wasn’t one of the lucky ones to have found my soul mate in high school, the fact there are many, says so much about the power of young love.
When I wrote Allusive Aftershock, I channeled my brain back into the time when I did have a steady boyfriend and I used the relationship we had. It was serious up until I went away to college and he didn’t. Things happen. But he was my boyfriend during that awful earthquake we went through in our senior year of high school. The one I used in the beginning of Allusive Aftershock actually happened almost the exact way I described it in the book, except I didn’t have a little sister and brother. But, the earthquake in the beginning is the only part of the book that was taken from experience. The rest, I hope never happens, except maybe the love part.
Although, Adela doesn’t have a boyfriend like I did, she does tend to stick like glue to Max, the wrong guy. I suppose, since I didn’t marry my high school boyfriend but spent most of my time with him it was similar in that way. Then later, when she starts to like Courtland, that was an easy relationship for me to imagine as well as write. Both boys in the book are hot so I had fun imagining I was Adela and having the difficult decision of figuring out whom she should actually trust, or like or even love.
Natural disasters happen all over the world, whether it’s an earthquake, hurricane, tornado or fire they can all be devastating. I chose an earthquake for this story, only because I’ve experienced them and could relate a little better. However, the ones that happen in Allusive Aftershock are fiction except for some similarities of the first one, which wasn’t all that bad and I would never want to be in one as horrible as the ones in Allusive Aftershock and the chances of any happening like those are very slim. My heart always goes out to everyone who has ever experienced anything life-threatening cause by mother nature. When I wrote Allusive Aftershock, for me, it was more about the relationships between Adela, Courtland and Max that drew the story, not the disaster. 
If you read Allusive Aftershock, I’d love to hear your thoughts and you can email me at or simply leave a review on   

Please be sure to visit Susan's blog for a chance to win a signed print copy of Allusive Aftershock.   

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Places to find Susan

Places to find Allusive Aftershock

Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile

Places to find MaryLynn
Heart Of A Wolf

Places to find Realm of Secrets
Goodreads Please Add Me To Your TBR Pile

Guest Post Hearts in Exile by Mysti Parker

Title: Hearts In Exile
Author: Mysti Parker
Series: Tallenmere (stand-alone)
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Melange Books
Release Date: June 3, 2013

Somewhere, hidden in the waters of the Southern Sea, lies an island unlike any other. Within the amber glow of its pyrogem-laden cliffs, legend says the very heart of the dragon god Drae keeps the island, and its occupants, alive.

Loralee Munroviel, daughter of Leogard's High Priestess Arianne, had no idea what she would face when she arrived by boat ten years ago and was left alone in exile. All she knew about Draekoria's inhabitants was written in one tattered notebook. Now, her life revolves around keeping Drae's descendants happy. Never in her life did she imagine being a Dragon Keeper.

Captain Igrorio Everlyn, known as Sir Robert to his unit of Holy Paladins, has faced his share of hell, battling the evils of Emperor Sarvonn's tyranny and the dark god Tyr's abominations. But none of that compares to the ten years of hell he's been without Loralee, presumed dead.

One freak storm changes everything. Now the two of them must fight to re-establish the delicate balance of the island before the dragons take things into their own hands. Through it all, they discover the secrets that kept them, and their hearts, exiled for a decade.

Cover Reveal Heavenly Hunted by Aria Williams

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Giveaway & Guest Post Shady Cove: New Girl in Town by Ava Catori

Title: Shady Cove: New Girl in Town
Author: Ava Catori
Genre: New Adult Romance
Publisher:Self Published
Release Date: May 16 2013

Can a big city girl go country? Jenna’s life grinds to a halt after her brother’s suicide. With her college funds non-existent and her future plans put on hold, she’s forced to relocate to a sleepy town. Just when her entire world is crumbling, she meets Benji Preston, a local guy she doesn't expect to fall for. He's not even her type! A harmless flirtation quickly escalates into something more. The only catch? He’s the same guy her cousin has been harboring a crush on for ages. With tongues wagging and jealousy dogging her every step, Jenna has to decide what's more important; her heart or her family ties?