Author Interview with Bill Blais

Tuesday, July 31, 2012
Bill Blais is a writer, web developer and perennial part-time college instructor. His novels include Witness (winner of the Next Generation Indie Book Award for Fantasy) and the first two books in the Kelly & Umber series. Bill graduated from Skidmore College before earning an MA in Medieval Studies from University College London. He lives in Maine with his wife and daughter.











Review Seed by Ania Ahlborn

Monday, July 30, 2012
Title: Seed
Author: Ania Ahlborn
My Rating:






GoodReads Synopsis:




Fans of Stephen King, Jack Kilborn, and Blake Crouch… prepare to meet the Devil.
In the vine-twisted swamps of Louisiana, the shadows have teeth.
Jack Winter has spent his entire life running from something no one else can see. His childhood is his darkest secret, but after a near fatal accident along a deserted road, the darkness he was sure he’d escaped rears its ugly head… and smiles.
But this time, he isn’t the only one who sees the soulless eyes of his past. This time, his six-year-old daughter Charlie leans into his ear and whispers: Daddy, I saw it too.
And then she begins to change.
Faced with reliving the nightmares of his childhood, Jack watches his daughter spiral into the shadows that had nearly consumed him twenty years before.
But Charlie isn’t the only one who’s changing.
Jack never outran the darkness. It’s been with him all along.
And it’s hungrier than ever.
A new breed of dark fiction: the subtlety of Seed will haunt you, and the end will wickedly satisfy.



I wanted to to do the format of this review  a little different.  Bear with me, it’s gonna be long winded.


Jack’s family is having a bit of trouble. Something has haunted Jack from childhood and seems to bes talking his family. He notices his 6 year old daughter Charlie has fallen prey to the same entity that stalked him all those years ago. He feels it’s his duty to protect his family from something that even he can’t identify. Something he has been running from his whole life.

What I liked:
---------------------------
This story is very well written. The story is plotted very well and it moves along. The story definitely has a pretty good creep feel to it. There were many moments when I was waiting in suspense to see what was going to happen next. The writer is very talented and knows how to put a story together.

What I didn’t like:
---------------------------
I should preface this by saying that I am a HUGE horror fan. I watch all kinds of horror movies, my favorite being foreign. So I know good horror. So many aspects of this story read like every horror movie you can imagine. I felt like it was a mix of the movie ‘The Omen’ and Stephen King’s Dreamcatcher. I felt like this book hit every horror cliché and I had to push myself to get past the useless animal killings. I know a lot of people don’t care this way or another if an animal dies in a book, but I do. It was pointless and added no real value to the storyline. It seemed added for a little bit of shock value so you could see how evil the entity or whatever was. I say whatever because I still have no clue what the entity was. The book hints it’s some sort of demon named “Mr. Scratch” (sound like Mr.Grey anyone…anyone? What an evil entity that takes over a human body and does evil deeds? Surely not!)  But the author doesn’t explain why or where it came from. Jack visits a cemetery in his youth and then all-of-sudden decides to string up a cat from a tree. So.. umm why? Because a demon was inside him, and then just leaves at some point? Some point Jack can’t remember? There is this HUGE plot hole.  I honestly don’t get it at all. Perhaps I am being dense. Maybe it said somewhere and I was too busy being flabbergasted by the lack of… anything. Even the ending is a little kick in the face to reader. It ends in your typical horror film way. This book was okay, but the only reason I will remember it is because I got to see every horror genre cliché be driven home in this novel.






Find Ania:
Website
Goodreads
Twitter
Facebook

Interview Unforgiven by Cat Miller A Forbidden Bond Blog Tour

Today on the blog I have the Awesome Cat Miller the Author of The Forbidden Bond Series. This Series looks extremely promising I read Unbound and was hooked and had a fan girl squee moment when I was asked to be apart of this awesome tour. I had an even bigger squee moment when Cat gave me an E~ARC  of Unforgiven. And I must say this series will keep you glued to your seat and reading to wee hours of the morning because you will not want to put these books down.

I was able to pick Cat's brain with an interview for my stop on the tour. Cat told me I had asked her very good questions she actually had to think to answer them so exciting. On to the interview but stick around to the end there might be a treat in store but no spoilers here.

Werewolf Bound by MaryLynn Bast Blog Tour Guest Post & Giveaway

Friday, July 27, 2012
Werewolf Bound by MaryLynn Bast Is On Tour And I Am Here To Kick This Tour Off With A Bang 
For a special treat I have a guest post from Blake with his POV of one of my favorite scenes from Werewolf Bound so stayed tuned to see what one of my favorite scenes is. Along with this we have a GIVEAWAY FOR ONE LUCKY US WINNER. :)




Title: Werewolf Bound
Author: MaryLynn Bast

Series: Heart Of A Wolf  (Novella) (Adam's Tale)
Genre: Paranormal / Werewolves
Publisher: Werewolf Tails Publishing
Release Date: July 3 2012





Goodreads Synopsis


Adam Channing knows the rules…during the Full Moon Phase ~DON’T GO IN THE WOODS~.
Yet, he can’t ignore the call of a young female werewolf Patricia DuFur. He knows it’s against pack rules, but can’t resist the temptation and faces the consequences when her three brothers attack and leave him to die.

With Blake as a friend, he is well on his way to learning the ways of being a werewolf. Adams is constantly in a state of change when he receives the gift of “Seer”. His life takes on a whole new meaning out in the forest.


Review Unbound by Cat Miller

Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Title: Unbound
Author: Cat Miller
Series: The Forbidden Bond Series
Genre: Paranormal Romance / Vampires
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: May 10, 2012
Edition:  Print Copy
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4.5


Goodreads Synopsis


Betrayal, passion, family secrets, murder, and vampires...

What else would one expect during their freshman year of college?

After her birth, Danielle Vaughn, and her mother were ushered out of town in a surreptitious attempt to save her life; vampire prejudice can be deadly.

Like any normal nineteen year old, her biggest worry in life was blending in and working hard to keep her grades up. Her departure from a small town in search of a higher education causes a domino effect; she quickly finds herself maneuvering through a maze of enemies and lovers who are all hell bent on capturing her at any cost.

Danielle’s life is turned upside down by the return of her father and the society of vampires that shattered her human mother’s life. She must find a way to survive in the new world she is thrust into by a power hungry rogue on the hunt for gifted vampire youth. The hierarchy of the vampire nation is rocked by the existence of a demi-vamp who has challenged their narrow-minded views of the human race.


Werewolf Bound Blog Tour Starting Soon



BeLoved Books July 31
A Page Away August 3

Hollowed by Kelley York Cover Reveal

Friday, July 20, 2012
Title: Hollowed
Author: Kelley York
Series: A Half Light Novel
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: August 15 2012





Blurb

All 18-year-old Briar Greyson wanted was to figure out this whole living-away-from-your-parents thing. Apartment, steady job, cool roommate? Check. Noah, her adorable (albeit elusive) boyfriend? Check. Everything in the life of Briar was pretty good.


Then she and her roommate are attacked on their way home one night. Briar wasn't supposed to survive.
Instead, according to the two guys who saved her, she's turning into the things that attacked her: a vampire. Totally crazy and Not Okay. Now Noah's secrets are coming to light, and he wants Briar dead. Then there are the vampires who attacked Briar to lure out her sister.


Her sister...who died years ago.


(Didn't she?)


The city's body count is rising, and Briar wants to help put a stop to it. But first, she has to figure out who the real enemy is: the vampires, the boy she loves, or the sister she thought she'd lost.








DLS

Thursday, July 19, 2012





Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:

1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions. 
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below.

Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments! 

We hope you join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!

This week's question: 
If your dream man was in your clutches, a pack of condoms (and any other actrouments you may need!) and some saucy underwear on what would be the first fantasy you and your hunk played out? And who would your dream man be?





Is my husband looking?? Okay--- he isn't lol.

First we are in a dark forest, and we do it up against a tree. Get all dirty and stuff


Then we frolic naked until we find a spring (SHUT UP THIS IS MY FANTASY!)

YEAH SOMETHING LIKE THIS!!


We do it in there... A LOT

Then we have a sunrise breakfast and watch deer frolic lol.. damnit I said this was MY fantasy. OH AND I COULD PET A DEER.....yeah.. I am a weirdo..


Yup.. me and a deer. Doesn't it look so natural?? I am pretty sure I am the only weirdo that would involve petting a deer in my fantasy....




Review No Good Deed by Bill Blais


Title: No Good Deed
Author: Bill Blais
Pages: 350
Series: Kelly & Umber
Good Reads Synopsis:
Kelly McGinnis has spent her adult life trying to do the right thing, but as a newly down-sized mother of twins and the wife of a man living with Multiple Sclerosis, she also knows that trying isn't always enough.
While interrupting a scene of police brutality, Kelly unwittingly releases a real, live demon. After she manages to kill the creature through gut instinct and blind luck, she is approached to join a secret group of demon hunters who reveal an underworld of monsters and magic.
Against her better judgment, Kelly accepts the lucrative, if bizarre, offer; but when she meets Umber, a compelling incubus with an unexpectedly human story, she learns that the truth is far stranger and more terrifying than she imagined.
Rating: 2.5


Guest Post Heart of a Dragon by Myra Nour

Title: Heart of the Dragon
Author: Myra Nour
Series: Volarn Chronicles (#2)


Blurb


Can Eric, a tough, handsome Green Beret from Earth, convince Kasha, the stubborn warrior princess of Volarn, that he loves
her? Not before they experience adventure in the haunted wastelands, discover a baby dragon, and explore the hot,
sensual side of their relationship.

Travel back to Volarn for more magical romance and new adventure with King Rhamus's sister, Kasha, and Olga's brother, Eric. If you loved Love's Captive, be enchanted with Volarn Chronicles Book Two. Find out what sad secret makes Kasha run from love. Follow the characters' fox and hound game of love, as each pushes the other to their limits, climaxing in a dramatic rescue that changes everything. Be warned, this book is filled with humor and love that knows no bounds. And an adorable, goofy dragon that will win your heart, so that you will be asking "How do I adopt a dragon of my own!".


Review Werewolf Bound by MaryLynn Bast

Wednesday, July 18, 2012
Title: Werewolf Bound
Author: MaryLynn Bast
Series: Heart Of A Wolf  (Novella) (Adam's Tale)
Publisher: Werewolf Tails Publishing
Release Date: July 3 2012
Edition: Kindle
Sourece: Free Copy In Exchange for Honest Review
Rating:



Goodreads Synopsis


Adam Channing knows the rules…during the Full Moon Phase— DON’T GO IN THE WOODS.
Yet, he can’t ignore the call of a young female werewolf Patricia DuFur. He knows it’s against pack rules, but can’t resist the temptation and faces the consequences when her three brothers attack and leave him to die.

With Blake as a friend, he is well on his way to learning the ways of being a werewolf. Adams is constantly in a state of change when he receives the gift of “Seer”. His life takes on a whole new meaning out in the forest.

Inbetween by Tara Fuller Cover Reveal

Monday, July 16, 2012
Inbetween-New

Title: Inbetween
Author: Tara Fuller
Series: (Kissed by Death #1)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: August, 2012

Blurb: 
Since the car crash that took her father’s life two years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky—and unending—lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.
It’s not easy being dead; especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left. His soul.

Finding Esta by Shah Wharton Cover Reveal

Wednesday, July 11, 2012
Title: Finding Esta
Author: Shah Wharton
Series: The Supe Series (#1)
Genre: Paranormal







Blurb


An unusual young woman and fledgling journalist, Luna has various restrictive and annoying oddities, all of which have prevented any kind of physical intimacy during her 23 years. In her dreams a dark stranger visits her, and in lieu of the real thing their intimacy excites her. During those moments, nestled within his presence, she senses an urgent message is the reason for his visits to her subconscious. A message she cannot interpret, regardless of his persistent efforts.
Her abusive parents remain blissfully unaware of Luna’s Shadow’s, but are all too aware of other issues with touch and sunlight, reveling in her isolated misery and physical pain. Still, Luna hopes to one day make them proud, hoping this will take her closer to being worthy of their elusive love. Something she craves almost as much as the painless touch of a lover.
When Luna learns of a tragic story involving the kidnap of baby Esta, she jumps at the chance to investigate. She hopes finding Esta and closing this cold case will finally earn her parents’ admiration, and love.
Of course, it doesn’t quite go to plan. The loitering stranger from her dreams now stalks her during daylight. How can this be? And will he ever be more than a figure in the shadows, always just out of reach?
Her investigation leads Luna to St Ives, Cornwall: a vibrant seaside town hiding copycat aliens and an underworld of Supernaturals. Here, she comes face-to-face with her own, terrifying identity. Confronted with life-changing decisions and the harshest of truths, Luna confronts insanity with logic, only to fight against both. Will Luna ever find the path to all that she desires?
More significantly, is she trapped in a newfound supernatural world, or within her own delusions? And will anyone care enough to save her?








Cover Reveal of Finding Esta by Shah Wharton Coming Tomorrow

Tuesday, July 10, 2012
CoverReveal Banner
All of these wonderful bloggers above will be sharing the cover of Finding Esta by Shah Wharton
happyreading
annasignature-1

Review, Interview, Excerpt, and Giveaway Storm by Bernard Lee DeLeo

Monday, July 9, 2012
Title: Storm
Author: Bernard Lee DeLeo
Genre: YA/ Paranormal
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: October 18th 2011
Edition: Ebook
Source: Free Review Copy For A Blog Tour
Rating:


Goodreads Synopsis


The FBI blackmailed Storm Crandall; but only after Storm hacked their database. At sixteen, she’s under cover at a high school, looking for clues involving five missing girls. Besides computer skills, Storm has game in the magic department. A sect of the Temple of Set soon finds out power comes in many guises. With two FBI agents posing as her parents in the city of Warren, Ohio, Storm finds love, allies, and tragedy in her hunt for answers. By fulfilling her end of the bargain, Storm can buy her way out of spending the days until her eighteenth birthday in a juvenile detention facility.
The FBI agents discover their young charge can do more than type fast. Their first encounter with the creature behind the disappearances shows the agents they need Storm for far more than information gathering as a high school spy. With Storm’s FBI handlers shadowing her every movement and conversation, small breakthroughs in the case come to light. Three girls from the high school visit Perkins Park at night where the disappearances had happened, playing a dangerous game of dare. Two of the girls, Nancy Alverson and Chris Vasquez, leave their friend Carol Wangden alone in the park after an argument. They walk to the local Burger King only blocks away, hoping for a ride from Logan Stanfield. Finding Storm there with Tracy Washington, they explain the game they had been playing. Logan drives to the park with Storm and Tracy to find Carol. Agents Dixon and Holloway, listening in, head for the park too. Logan holds off the monster they find chasing down Carol long enough for Storm to cast an impromptu invocation which disperses the demon in front her companions.
Teaming up with the enigmatic Logan, Storm begins unraveling a horror no one anticipated. When the case morphs from serial kidnapping into a supernatural witch hunt, Storm and her friends, under the guidance of the FBI agents, scramble to stay alive while tracking down monsters both human and inhuman.

Cover Reveal Empty Net by Toni Aleo

Title: Empty Net
Author: Toni Aleo
Series: The Assassin Series (#3)
Genre: Contemporary Romance/ Sports Romance
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: September 11th 2012



Goodreads Synopsis


Definition of an Empty Net: When a team pulls the goalie for an extra attacker, desperately seeking a goal.

Audrey Parker was in a horrible place.
She hated her job, her sister was getting married and moving out, but worst of all, she was in love with a total jerk. No matter what she did, every guy she met hurt her. All she wanted was her happily ever after. Her Prince Charming. Her Lucas Brooks! She didn’t know how to change her life but she knew she needed too.
Feeling like she was about to hit rock bottom, Audrey wakes up next to Tate Odder.

Tate Odder had lost everything.
After being brought up from the Assassins’ farm team, the Florida Rays to the Nashville Assassins, Tate hopes he’ll forget everything he has lost. He doesn’t. Each day gets harder to live in a place he doesn’t know. Even being the first rookie goalie to shut out an opposing team three times during the Lord Stanly Cup Finals, he still felt empty. With the loss of his parents and sister still heavy on his heart, Tate isn’t sure how to live like everything is okay.

But when he wakes up beside Audrey Parker, things start to change. She turns his life upside down with her kooky sense of humor and her bright clothing. She is intelligent and beautiful, and for once, he doesn’t feel empty.
Will Audrey be the person to fill the holes in Tate’s heart, making him whole again?
Or will another player ruin everything, leaving him feeling forever like an empty net?


Review Brightest Kind Of Darkness by P.T. Michelle

Tuesday, July 3, 2012
Brightest Kind Of Darkness

Title: Brightest Kind Of Darkness
Author: P.T. Michelle
Series: Brightest Kind Of Darkess (#1)
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: June 27, 2011
Genre: YA / Paranormal
Source: Author for honest review
Rating:
Goodreads Blurb:
Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore.
After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate.
Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

Hellbound by Lee Taylor Cover Reveal

Monday, July 2, 2012
Title: Hellbound
Author: Lee Taylor
Series: Unleashed Series (#2)
Genre: Paranormal , YA
Publisher: Firefly & Wisp Publishing
Expected Release Date: October 2012



Blurb to come.

But here is the premise for Hellbound.
"Ursine" is having to face his fears and find a way into hell basically to get his friend/wife back


In case you have not checked out Bound book 1 in this awesome series. Here is the cover and blurb and a link to my review.



What happens when the line between Love and Hate disappears?





Titlle: Bound
Author: Lee Taylor
Series: Unleashed (#1)
Genre: Paranormal , YA 
Publisher: Firefly & Wisp Publishing
Published: October 1st 2011






Goodreads Blurb


Ursine Edwards was a normal, well-adjusted teenager prior to Summer vacation. Now, he has unintentionally married a demon, fallen into line with a wolf-pack, and is being hunted by witches as well as the government, who are all in turn trying to use Ursine for their own devices.


You can find my review for Bound here.





Haunted Moon by Yasmine Galenorn Cover Reveal

Title: Haunted Moon
Author: Yasmine Galenorn 
Series: Otherworld  / Sisters of the Moon
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Berkley (Mass Market)
Expected Release Date: January 29, 2013






I absolutely love this cover. Camille is GORGEOUS and love Morio in the background in is Youkai-Kitsune  (Fox) form.
Here are the covers for the other books in this non stop action packed sit on the edge of your seat fantastic page turning series. If you have not read this series not I am not sure what you are waiting on. This series should be on everybody's reading list. But don't just take my word for it get it for yourself and you decide. No worries here because I know you will love this series also.







ShareThis