Review One Bite To Passion by MaryLynn Bast

Thursday, May 31, 2012
One Bite To Passion

Title : One Bite To Passion
Author: MaryLynn Bast
Publisher: Renaissance E Books
Published: May 18th 2012


Goodreads Synopsis

On a business trip to Japan, Paige has just found happiness with Casey, an exciting, young man with a passionate interest in Paige. After a night of wild sex, feels like a new woman. Drawn to Casey, Paige can’t refuse him even though he says he wants to possess her and she learns he is a vampire. Then Paige's unfaithful husband, Dalton, shows up. He has supposedly broken off his affair, but Paige suspects he is still seeing his mistress. Soon, Paige begins to notice disturbing things happening around her and discovers she has become the center of a battle between covens who consider her The Chosen One. But when she faces the greatest peril of her life, and Casey shows up to help, Page realizes she is willing fight the covens side-by-side with him, if it means the chance of a future with this vampire she has come to love.

Deadlocked By Charlaine Harris Review

Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Author :Charlaine Harris
Title: Deadlocked
Series: Southern Vampires
My Rating:




Goodreads Synopsis:
With Felipe de Castro, the Vampire King of Louisiana (and Arkansas and Nevada), in town, it’s the worst possible time for a body to show up in Eric Northman’s front yard—especially the body of a woman whose blood he just drank.
Now, it’s up to Sookie and Bill, the official Area Five investigator, to solve the murder. Sookie thinks that, at least this time, the dead girl’s fate has nothing to do with her. But she is wrong. She has an enemy, one far more devious than she would ever suspect, who’s out to make Sookie’s world come crashing down

In the 12th book in the Southern Vampires series we get to see Sookie yet again have something troubling erupt in her life. This reads much like a diary—kind of like, I went and poured some coffee, made some toast, talked to Tara, and painted my nails. In the last book I felt like it was an unfinished product. This book feels like it was the rest of the 11th book, but cut off leaving you going wtf? I listened to the audiobook for this one. As always I love the person who reads these. Her name is Johanna Parker and she is awesome. Like I said this really reads like a diary of mundane tasks. Sookie finds herself (yet again) in the middle of a crap storm. A woman is found dead in Eric’s front yard, Claude is acting weird (as always), and Eric needs to choose whether to stay with Sookie or go where the power is with Freyda. I really felt like this book should have been in the last book, because not much happens. I enjoyed listening to the book. It wasn’t a horrible story, but the lack of any real plot struck me as odd. I felt the same way about the last book. It just feels unfinished. It ends so abruptly that I had to make sure I didn’t accidentally press skip on something. Yeah, it’s that level of abruptness. I have no closure to the storyline and it wasn’t that strong to begin with. The last two books in this series have really thrown me off. It’s like the publisher is making her sit at a desk all day and write half books, and then publishes them. The storyline is weak, it feels unfinished, and all these men pining over Sookie has me down right irritated. She isn’t that awesome people. I see her appeal, but every dude has it bad for her. This book wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t great either. If you are this far along in the series you are probably going to keep reading like me, but please Charlaine Harris—maybe take some time in the plot? I mean seriously look how short the synopsis is!



Cover Reveal Beg For It By Stacey Kennedy

Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Beg For It
Title: Beg For It
Series: Pact of Seduction (#2)
Publisher: Loose ID
Release Date: May 29 2012
bdsm-150x146 Erotica





Goodreads SynopsisThe Pact of Seduction has one rule—fulfill your ultimate fantasy. Bella’s problem, she can’t live up to her vow. But her failure spins events that lead her into unknown territory. Kole, a Dom at the sex club Castle Dolce Vita, wasn’t part of her fantasy, but he’s about to show her he should have been.Kole is more than willing to introduce Bella to BDSM since he’s held an interest in her for some time. But the feisty woman isn’t easily tamed and her strong personality proves to be difficult. While she might be determined to keep him at a distance, Kole has other ideas. He won’t allow her to shut him out.A pact between best friends brought them together, emotional barriers tear them apart. Kole skillfully reminds Bella through pleasure and punishment that she is now his submissive, and her place is under his command.Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual situations, graphic language, and material that some readers may find objectionable: BDSM theme and elements, including spanking.

If you enjoy reading Stacey’s writing as much as I do they make sure to add this one to your TBR Pile. It is available today.


The Mirrored Shard by Caitlin Kittredge Cover Reveal

Sunday, May 27, 2012
The Mirrored ShardTitle: The Mirrored Shard
Author: Caitlin Kittredge
Series: The Iron Codex (#3)
Genre: YA, Steampunk, Dystopian
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Expected Publication: February 12, 2013
Book Blurb
Aoife Grayson must face death to win back Dean—the love who was ripped from the Iron Lands of the living when he was shot in the arctic north. But getting to the Deadlands is something that Aoife can't do on her own. And if she can find a way there, Tremaine would surely never allow it. He has sworn to keep her in the Thorn Lands, the fairie home of her mother, Nerissa. But Aoife is determined to find her way out. And she has no trouble if that means she has to kill Tremain and his queen to do it.
I love the covers for Caitlin Kittredge's Iron Codex Series they are 
ABSOLUTELY  BEAUTIFUL !!!!
             The Mirrored Shard 1

What Do You Think?
If you have not read any of Cailtlin's Books what are you waiting for? Cailtlin's imagination  is fantastic she weaves worlds like no other. Make sure to check out her other books also. 

hred

annasignature

Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor Cover Reveal

 Title : Days of Blood & Starlight
 Author: Laini Taylor
 Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone (#2)
 Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, & YA
 Publisher: Little Brown and Company
 Expected Publication: November 6 2012

 Goodreads Synopsis 

 In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.


When I came across this cover. I new I had to share just how beautiful it was and I am patiently waiting on its release.

Make sure to pre ~ order your copy soon.






Night Sky by Jolene Perry Review

Thursday, May 24, 2012
Author: Jolene Perry
Title: Night Sky
Source: Ebook
My Rating:





My Thoughts:

This story is about 18 year old Jameson. He has everything figured out. He is in love with his best friend Sarah—she doesn’t love him back. He believes it’s the end of the world when Sarah falls for another guy. His world is falling apart, but then he meets Sky, a beautiful girl with a wild side. He is then thrown into a relationship with a girl who is keeping secrets. I first was put off a bit by the male pov. I don’t know why, I guess I haven’t read much male pov’s, but once I got past that I was totally into this book.  I love the main character Jamesons transformation in this book. This really is a coming of age sort of novel. That ever internal struggle of a teenage boy in love. Sigh. I am not really one for YA or real life love stories ,but I truly enjoyed this. The author Jolene Perry really knows her characters. Everyone person in this book has a life, a personality, and just flat out breathes.  I read this in about 3 hours in one sitting and I was definitely glued to the book at the end. I would like to see what adventures Sky and Jameson could have. I would like to see a book with them and some greater plot because I really do like these characters, they have so much potential! I don’t necessarily like the mundane plot, but that’s just my personal reading preference.  Great book!



Dirty Little Secret #3

dirty-little-secret

Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!
To participate in the meme all you need to do is:
1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below.
Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments!
We hope you join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!
This week's question (thanks to Niina C for the suggestion):

What's the sexiest item of clothing a hero can wear in a novel?

Battle Gear is what I think looks good on a hero.
samanthasig






Honestly all I am coming up with is a t-shirt and a pair of jeans. I mean like you can see the shape of the chest through the shirt-- and the the shape of the--- yeah--- through the jeans. Simple all the way for me!
oli

I love it when a read about a sexy man with a Scottish accent in kilt. Ladies that really can make my blood boil.

hred
annasignature

Charade by Cambria Hebert Review and Interview

Charade

Title: Charade
Author: Cambria Hebert
Series: Heven and Hell (#2)
Publisher: Otherworld Publications
Release Date: May 2012
Edition: Ecopy
Source: Author for honest review and book blog tour.
Rating: 4stars (1)




Goodreads Synopsis

Dying at the hands of a psycho was a shock. Having my life returned to me by an angel was incredible. Being named a Supernatural Treasure and being given Sam as my guard was pretty darn awesome. Acquiring a debt for it all—well, I should have seen it coming.
Now here we are, fighting demons from Hell, caring for a boy that I just don’t trust, and traveling to faraway places to return a treasure to its rightful place. Nothing is as it seems. Everyone wears a mask; everyone puts on a charade. It’s up to us to separate the truth from the lies and reality from fiction. A hard task when my new reality involves fallen angels, witches and dragons… and did I mention Hell?
Anchoring me down through it all is Sam. Sam, who must face tragedies of his own and is put to the test again and again.
If we fail in our task, life as we know it—life as you know it—will end. Forever.

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare Review


Title: City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5)
Author: Cassandra Clare
My Rating:




GoodReads Synopsis:

The demon Lilith has been destroyed and Jace has been freed from her captivity. But when the Shadowhunters arrive to rescue him, they find only blood and broken glass. Not only is the boy Clary loves missing–but so is the boy she hates, Sebastian, the son of her father Valentine: a son determined to succeed where their father failed, and bring the Shadowhunters to their knees.

No magic the Clave can summon can locate either boy, but Jace cannot stay away—not from Clary. When they meet again Clary discovers the horror Lilith’s dying magic has wrought—Jace is no longer the boy she loved. He and Sebastian are now bound to each other, and Jace has become what he most feared: a true servant of Valentine’s evil. The Clave is determined to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. Will the Shadowhunters hesitate to kill one of their own?

Only a small band of Clary and Jace’s friends and family believe that Jace can still be saved — and that the fate of the Shadowhunters’ future may hinge on that salvation. They must defy the Clave and strike out on their own. Alec, Magnus, Simon and Isabelle must work together to save Jace: bargaining with the sinister Faerie Queen, contemplating deals with demons, and turning at last to the Iron Sisters, the reclusive and merciless weapons makers for the Shadowhunters, who tell them that no weapon on this earth can sever the bond between Sebastian and Jace. Their only chance of cutting Jace free is to challenge Heaven and Hell — a risk that could claim any, or all, of their lives.

And they must do it without Clary. For Clary has gone into the heart of darkness, to play a dangerous game utterly alone. The price of losing the game is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she even still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love?

Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

Waiting On Wednesday

Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Waiting on Wednesday
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating! Want to participate? Post your own WOW entry on your blog, and leave your link at Breaking the Spine.

My Pick

Kitty Steals The Show

Title: Kitty Steals The Show

Author: Carrie Vaughn


Goodreads Synopsis

Kitty has been tapped as the keynote speaker for the First International Conference on Paranatural Studies, taking place in London. The conference brings together scientists, activists, protestors, and supernatural beings from all over the world—and Kitty, Ben, and Cormac are right in the middle of it.
Master vampires from dozens of cities have also gathered in London for a conference of their own. With the help of the Master of London, Kitty gets more of a glimpse into the Long Game—a power struggle among vampires that has been going on for centuries—than she ever has before. In her search for answers, Kitty has the help of some old allies, and meets some new ones, such as Caleb, the alpha werewolf of the British Isles. The conference has also attracted some old enemies, who’ve set their sights on her and her friends.
All the world’s a stage, and Kitty’s just stepped into the spotlight.
 
annasignature-1

Ocaria by Sdyney Berns Interview

I would like to welcome the lovely Sdyney. Author of Ocaria to the blog to day. With a little one on one interview. I was asked to read Ocaria back in February in return for an honest review. Which you can find my thoughts here.

close-ups beauty woman part of face

Goodreads Synopsis

Syyren Kantrella, captain of the guards, leaves her underwater world to seek the aid of the self-exiled prince. The oracle, the woman who maintains the underwater ecosystem in Ocaria, has disappeared. The prince is the only other person in existence who can take her place, but ... there is a price.
The last thing Marcus Versar Ay Seamius, a real estate mogul, wants to do is to return to Ocaria. Yet, for a chance to be with Syyren, he is willing to make a devil’s bargain, even if it means remembering why he left in the first place.




Now On To The Interview

I like to start all interview with can you tell us a little bit about yourself?


I’m a diehard New Yorker but I now live in Massachusetts. I try to go home every chance I get. I love to travel. If you shout “road trip”, I’ll raise my hand and say “Coming”.



1. What inspired you to want to write?


I always loved to read. It wasn’t until I was twelve years old that I began to dream about writing. I daydreamed about scenes and plot, but it became a serious dream when I started reading YA books. I related to many of the themes in those stories. I was confident I could write stories people would want to read.


2. If someone wrote a book about your life what would be a good title for the book?


The Good, the bad and the ugly.


3. What is something people would be surprised to know about you?


I used to play classical piano and used to speak French fluently. I’m a little rusty on both of them.


4. Which character did you enjoy writing the most? Least?


I enjoyed writing Marcus. I’m fascinated by the way a man thinks. I can’t think of a character I enjoy writing the least.


5. Who has been your biggest inspiration? 

My dad was one of my biggest inspirations. He was an excellent writer, and I always wanted to be as smart as him. Nora Roberts was another inspiration. I was thirteen when I read her book for the first time. She is one of the most successful writers. I want to be as successful as she is.


6. What is your favorite way to spend a rainy day?


Lie down and read a good book.


7. What would your dream cast for Ocaria be?


Josh Harnett as Marcus, Jeffrey Dean Morgan as the King, Joss Holloway as Lyneal, and Kristen Stewart as Moyrra. I can’t think of anyone to play Syyren. She has exotic looks and she is naturally seductive. There are a lot of actresses who have some of the characteristics but no one as the total package.


8. Any other books in the works? Goals for the future?


I have three books in the works. One is fairy tale based, and the others are romantic action dramas. I also have plans to write several sequels to Ocaria. I haven’t decided yet on the story lines. However, the next the story will be a full length novel.



Just for Fun


Watching corky reality shows on Animal Planet and Lifetime


Chocolate or Vanilla 


Both. Chocolate candies and cakes. Vanilla ice cream all the way.


Favorite Candy



Caramels


Tea or Coffee



Tea is my preference but I drink both.


Beach or Mountains



Neither


PC or Mac



PC but I might change my mind since it’s been giving problems for over a year.
 
Anna Sig Teal

Preservation by Rachael Wade Guest Post

Monday, May 21, 2012
5.5"X8.5" Post Card Template

Title: Preservation
Author: Rachael Wade


Goodreads Synopsis

Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon.
Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage.
When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor.
But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first.
 
Preservation On Tour!



A sexy, arrogant, playboy professor. A stubborn, independent, aspiring writer. Both masters at the art of sabotage. Let the games begin. Available 5/25 from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.
  • Song: Remain Nameless
  • Artist: Florence and the Machine
  • Tour Date: 5/21
  • Venue: The campus swimming pool
  • Scene Snapshot: Ryan and Kate get to know each other during their weekly swims at the campus pool
  • Anthem:
I wish to remain nameless
And live without shame
'Cause what's in a name, oh
I still remain the same
You can call it what you want
You can call me anything you want
You can call us what you want
You can call me anything you want
Everybody lets you down
In this brief hole of a town
What a difference of the rushing out
Tell me what you're running from
I know everybody lets you down
And I'll do the same
But know I'll always be around
This can remain the same

Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon.

Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage.
When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor.
But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first.



Places to Find Rachael
Visit RachaelWade.com and connect with her here:
Twitter @RachaelWade
Facebook Fan Page
GoodReads Author Page
YouTube Video Page

Places to find Preservation
Goodreads
Amazon

hred

annasignature

Preservation by Rachael Wade Review

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Title: Preservation
Author: Rachael Wade
Publisher: Rabit Hole Press
Pages: 217
Media: E-book

Rating:


Goodreads Synopsis:

Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage. 

When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor. 

But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first


My Friday Love #1

Friday, May 18, 2012
I found this little meme to break the monotony of the week.




My Friday Love is a weekly meme, where we want to share what we loved during this past week.


Here are some things I loved about this past week.

1. Listening to old Lindsay Lohan Cd's-- Don't judge me :P
2. Diet Mountain Dew-- I have rekindled my love for Diet Mt. Dew. So refreshing. *Cue Cheesy Music*
3. Working on a blog design for many people. My true stress reliever.
4. Talking Anna while I am attempting to be creative.




Dirty Little Secret (DLS) #2

Thursday, May 17, 2012
dirty-little-secret

Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!
To participate in the meme all you need to do is:
1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below.
Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments!
We hope you join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!


This week's question:
If you could read one book again for the first time,
which one would you pick and why?


I would pick A Rush of Wings by Adrian Phoenix this was officially my first delve into the Urban Fantasy Genre. That got me reading a whole new genre and now that I have started I can not get enough of it.  Now I would say that 90% of what I read is in the paranormal world setting. Not to mention I just love Dante from this fantastic series and I can not get enough of him. Adrian has created a fantastic world and characters to devour.
happyreading
annasignature-1


I would pick Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry because it was the very first book that I read. That was actually mine.

samsig2





I would probably read  Halfway To The Grave by Jeaniene Frost. I remember I was having trouble downloading the book to read and everyone was saying you have to read this! Finally when I did, I was hooked!! LOVE the Nighthuntress Novels!!



ShareThis