Cover Reveal Of LUCID by P.T. Michelle

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

 

This is an early reveal of book 2 in The Brightest Kind of Darkness Series by P.T. Michelle. There is currently no blurb available but as soon as there is one I will update this post. But for now just look at how pretty this cover is. This Series has awesome covers.

PTMichelle_Lucid_400px

Lucid is coming spring of 2012.

Interview with the Awesome Lee Taylor author of Bound

Today on the blog I would like to welcome the Awesome Lee Taylor author of Bound his debut novel which was such a FANTASTIC read please be sure to check out my review and giveaway of Bound here. Lee is joining us to answer some questions that I asked him. I hope everyone enjoys this interview as much as I did.

LEETAYLOR

First to get things started could you tell us a little bit about yourself?


Hi, my name is Lee, I am the author of the Unleashed series, Bound! I love to read, and watch “stuff” whenever I am not writing, and by stuff I mean: Television, movies, clouds… you know, the usual.

1. Where did the idea for Bound come from when was it born so to speak?

Bound was born from an idle thought after a heated  discussion with my wonderful wife about the endings of various books and movies… I was griping, saying how for a climax such and such was a let –down I even compared some endings to be like a nightmare date… I say that meaning this: Imagine you meet someone who appears to be your ideal date, after getting to know them a little you ask them out, they agree, and you are filled with nerves of anticipation. Then, when you turn up for said date, the person you are supposed to meet is nowhere to be seen, and in their stead is a troglodyte who bludgeons you, then makes off with your wallet, leaving you feeling out of pocket and disappointed at being led on, not to mention a killer headache.

2. Do you have any writing rituals or quirks?


My ritual is pretty simple. I tuck my kids into bed, after reading them a story, or watching a movie with them, then put my writing hat on! I find it a lot easier to put all my energy into writing when I know that my kids are wrapped up, safe and warm. It gives me piece of mind, not to mention peace and quiet!

3. Do you have a favorite place or time to write?


A large majority of the time, it is in front of my heater, in the lounge, in the dead of night… It would be a lovely scene if not for the constant attention seeking of my affectionate, and rather attention seeking dog or cat!

4. Do you have a playlist for Bound?

Yes, I do. Although I tend to chop and change it quite a bit, I find music can really influence my mood, and so too much of the same music, and I might find myself being bored of the entire genre! So I try my best to mix things up, have some classical music, a dash of country western, a dollop of R&B a few splashes of indie, a hearty slab of classic rock, a pinch of punk, and a cupful of dance music, and I am normally set!

5. Can you tell us about your upcoming book and/or books?

Certainly! My second book in the Unleashed series: Hellbound, should be out this October! Ursine is finding himself in a rather demanding situation… I have books three and four also in the works. I should be having a short story of mine out soon, as part of a zombie anthology, as I am quite the zombie nut! Or as I like to say, I am a Zombeek (zombie-geek) There are also two more books that aren’t that far from their initial editing phases, one of them being in the YA genre, whilst the other, I believe is aimed more for the mature audience, of course I say that and mean my protagonist in that is not at school.      ( I am looking forward to Hellbound and all of your other works. )

 

6. What was your favorite chapter or part of Bound to write and why?

I think it had to be chapter sixteen, the way I wrote a particular part I was very proud of, and that doesn’t happen to me often, a lot of the time I am too critical of my own work, so I always aim to do better, and to never give up.

7. What has been the toughest criticism given to you has an author? What has been the best compliments?


I created Bound, it is my baby. I love it, like I do one of my children, so anytime I hear someone couldn’t get into it, I am disappointed, sure, but I understand, not everyone has the same taste, heck there are people out there in the world that have a fetish with being taunted by the cookie monster. So as long as a few people can find Bound entertaining, then I know I am on the right tracks!

8. Have you ever written a character or characters who resembles your personality or the personality of someone close to you?

Apparently my protagonist of Bound Ursine is a lot like me… I hadn’t even realized at the time either, but I guess, that is because a lot of time, when I was researching, or writing potential plots I put myself in the situation, to understand what actions were taken.

9. Do you work with an outline or just write and have you ever had writers block?

I have an outline I try to stick to, but quite often I will find myself, writing, two or three choices in a scenario, then writing a completely different one, what took the best elements from the previous.

10. If you could ask yourself any interview questions what would it be and how would you answer it?

Yes! I would ask: “Have you enjoyed this interview… and the answer is. Below! Marked with the “**

Just for Fun

Beach or Mountains?

Both, for me, the mountains are fantastic, like the Rocky’s are absolutely incredible… but having kids, I know they would much rather go to the beach for the day, and burry me up to the neck in the sand…

Favorite Candy?

I am not really a big fan of candy… I am a Potato chip kind-of guy!

Tea or Coffee?

Coffee! Coffee! Coffee!

White, Milk, or Dark Chocolate?

Ha! I am not fussy when it comes to chocolate, like I said, I am not a huge candy fan… of course that also means I don’t mind what flavour, as they are all awesome xD

Night Owl or Early Bird?


Unfortunately both! It’s the middle of the day when I turn into a bit of a zombie… This is because at night time, I will write, and in the mornings I am doing housework and sorting the kids out for school!

Favorite Social Media Facebook, Twitter, etc? 

Facebook! I do use Twitter but, unfortunately as I have a tendency to ramble on, the word capping to me is a lot like being “shhhhh’ed!” in the middle of a sentence!


**Thank you for taking the time to read this, it has been an honour and a privilege answering these questions! xxx

Happy Reading!!! PLZ Share Some Love for the Awesome Lee Taylor and his debut novel Bound.

Bound by Lee Taylor Review and Giveaway

Monday, January 30, 2012
Bound
Goodreads Blurb
Ursine Edwards was a normal well-adjusted teenager prior to Summer vacation. Now he has unintentionally married a Demon, fallen into line with a wolf pack and is being hunted by witches as well as the government, who are all in turn trying to use Ursine for their own devices.
Can Ursine battle the darkness that is trying to consume him as well as keeping his humanity?
Will his life ever be the same again? Only time will tell.


 

My Review QQQQQ 5/5
WOW this book is like a rollercoaster ride and I love rollercoaster rides it is fast paced action packed and will have you sitting on the edge of your seat. I always say a book that can make you show some type of emotion is a sign that it is a good book. Well this book will do it I LMAO almost throughout the whole book I loved Ursine the main protagonists humor. Not many books have a male protagonist any more and this one did which I liked a lot. This book is Fresh and Most Definitely Original. I Highly Recommend it.
We start this story with Si (Ursine) sitting in the last class of the last day of school before summer vacation, but that is all about to change and fast. We go from a normal at least he thought he was a normal teenage boy to a teenage boy that is anything but normal. He quickly learns that he is a were of sorts even though he hopes it is just a dream. Si manages to have just about all types of supes after him even the human government. He even manages to inadvertently marry a Demon all at the age of 17. That is what I mean by a rollercoaster ride.
Lee’s characters and world building are superb. His description is awesome. So well done that he actually transport you to that time and place. In the book Lee leaves you begging for the next installment. I know I am patiently (well I do not have good patients) so I am impatiently waiting for the next installment.
Places Bound can be Found
Amazon Kindle Edition
Amazon Print Edition
Smashwords
Books A Million BAM
Barnes and Noble
Places Lee can be Found
Facebook Author Page
Goodreads
Twitter
Giveaway Time: 
Lee is giving away a signed copy of Bound to one lucky winner. So Please be sure to use the Rafflecopter below to enter to win a copy.
Giveaway

Review Vengeance By Michelle Madow

Sunday, January 29, 2012
VengeanceGoodreads Blurb
How far would you go to get revenge?
When Chelsea Givens discovered that her ex-boyfriend Drew dumped her to be with her former best friend Lizzie, she'd never felt so betrayed in her life. Then her new friend Shannon tells her she can help set things right. Chelsea's willing to listen, but what Shannon wants her to believe -- that she shared a past life with Drew -- is impossible. And what she wants her to do to get him back … well, it's downright crazy.
Could Shannon be telling the truth? And if she is, what lengths will Chelsea go if it means making Lizzie pay?
Find out in Vengeance, the second part of the Transcend Time Saga.
*Vengeance is the short story that bridges the events in Remembrance and the final novel in the Saga

 
My Review QQQQ 4/5
Let's start by saying Hell Hath No Fury Like a Woman Scorned.
Vengeance is book two in the Transcend Time Saga. And is told by Chelsea's POV rather then Lizzy's. Which I liked a lot gave me a real good insight on how Chelsea was feeling.  I would like to say I really wanna feel bad for Chelsea but she does not make it easy. Chelsea is out for revenge which I get but she is doing it for all the wrong reasons. She only wants to hurt Drew and Lizzy well mostly Lizzie her ex best friend. I do not think she loves Drew. I think she is being selfish. I think she only wants Drew just to have him and it is not like Drew and Lizzie set out to hurt Chelsea on purpose. Drew and Lizzie's love well was written in the the stars and fate has brought them back together in another time and place. Chelsea is out to hurt Lizzie at any cost and it seems she will get her way when Shannon yet once again gets involved by taking Chelsea to see her aunt. Upon meeting Shannon's aunt Chelsea discovers she was reincarnated . Chelsea is now out for revenge in the worst way. With the little help she received from Shannon's aunt she might get what she wants. Sorry Guys No Spoilers Here. At the end  I couldn't believe it was over. It left me wanting more. I am looking forward to reading the final installment in the Transcend Time Saga


Happy Reading !!!!!!!


Immortalis Series by Katie Salidas

Wednesday, January 25, 2012
I was lucky enough to be apart of this awesome Blog Tour for the ah~may~zing Katie Salidas. I was able to review the first 3 books in her 


Immortalis Series. The copy I had was the Omnibus Provided to me By Katie But I want to break this down into the 3 books.

Book 1 Immortalis Carpe Noctem
Goodreads  Blurb

Explore the emotional upheaval that is the transformation from human to vampire.

Bleeding to death after brutal mugging on the campus of UNLV, Twenty-five year old Alyssa, is rescued by the cold and aloof, vampire, Lysander. Taking pity on her, he shares the gift-and curse-of immortality. She awakens as a vampire and is soon devastated by harsh realities of her new way of life: An unyielding thirst for blood as well as the loss of her friends, her independence, and her humanity.
As if having her humanity stripped away was not enough to make life interesting, Alyssa finds out her "turning", did not go unnoticed by the rest of undead society. Old enemies; an ancient sect of vampire hunters, known as the Acta Sanctorum, as well as a powerful Vampire mistress, each set plans in motion to destroy both Alyssa and Lysander.
Only by accepting her new-found immortality, seizing the night, will Alyssa hope to survive. She and Lysander must fight together against two sets of enemies bent on destroying them both.

My Review 4.5

This book was a great read I loved it.
Katie puts yet another spin to the Vampire Legends and does not disappoint. This first book is all about Alyssa learning to cope with being turned into a vampire and I just loved the way the characters develop as the story progresses. I love Alyssa's character and I really loved Lysander's character. I have to admit that, "Immortalis Carpe Noctem" is one of the best Vampire story I have read in awhile . I enjoyed the way she explained how Vampires came to be. She stuck to the myths and legends and made it work in a way that not many others have been able to do. And I love my vampire books and can never seem to get enough of them. I love the way vampires can be told an so many ways yet always seem to still keep you intrigued by the way another author can tell a story with them involved and not ruin it.
This story is packed with action, passion, romance and a lot of stubbornness. Katie will have any reader on the edge of their seat. I actually found myself holding my breath a couple of times as I read on waiting to see what would happen next. I love it when a book can make you feel some type of emotion and this book delivers on that aspect I laughed and I cried in this book. It is an extremely entertaining story that will keep you begging for more. You will not be able to put it down, let me assure you! Katie is gonna knock it out of the park with this series.


Book 2 Hunters and Prey

 Goodreads Blurb
The exciting sequel to Immortalis Carpe Noctem.
Rule number one: humans and vampires don't co-exist. One is the hunter and one is the prey. Simple, right? Not for newly-turned vampire Alyssa. A surprise confrontation with Santino Vitale, the Acta Sanctorum's most fearsome hunter, sends her fleeing back to the world she once knew, and Fallon, the human friend she's missed more than anything. Now she has some explaining to do. However, that will have to wait. With the Acta Sanctorum hot on their heels, staying alive is more important than educating a human on the finer points of bloodlust.


My review 5

Hunters and Prey picks up not long after Immortalis Carpe Noctem left off ~ Post-Kallisto & Acta Sanctorum battle with Alyssa continuing to struggle between her need for blood and having to kill her victims to keep her existence a secret. This book grabs the reader by the throat from the first line, while the vampire, Alyssa, gulps her victim’s blood.
Alyssa, is a young vampire, newly turned, living with a clan of ancients. Alyssa’s stubborn risk-taking habit puts. Every time it looked like Alyssa was properly lectured, and she promised not to do it again, she found more trouble or we can say trouble found her.
Lysander, ancient vampire, and leader of their clan, has his hands full, keeping track of Alyssa and saving  her. No wonder Lysander and the other members of the Peregrinus Clan say Alyssa is a magnet for trouble. But she is a loyal friend to Fallon even though trouble finds her. She does try to do things on her own to fix what she has essentially messed up even if it was all done in good intentions.
HUNTERS AND PREY is a welcome addition to the IMMORTALIS series . While I very much liked reading IMMORTALIS CARPE NOCTEM, I was more engaged when reading HUNTERS AND PREY. It's a book that held my attention with good characters, a good plot, and nice world-building. Best of all, it's made me want to dig into the next book in the series, as soon as possible. Katie is gonna keep you setting on the edge of your seat with this whole series. I am loving this series borderline obsessed with this series.
Book 3 Pandora’s Box
 Goodreads Blurb

After a few months as a vampire, Alyssa thought she'd learned all she needed to know about the supernatural world. But her confidence is shattered by the delivery of a mysterious package - a Pandora's Box. Seemingly innocuous, the box is in reality an ancient prison, generated by a magic more powerful than anyone in her clan has ever known. But what manner of evil could need such force to contain it? When the box is opened, the sinister creature within is released, and only supernatural blood will satiate its thirst. The clan soon learns how it feels when the hunter becomes the hunted. Powerless against the ancient evil, the clan flees Las Vegas for Boston, with only a slim hope for salvation. Could Lysander's old journals hold the key? And what if they don't? And how welcome will they be in a city run by a whole different kind of supernatural being? Werewolves.


My review 5

Ok Guys I don’t think I will ever stop FANGIRLING this series. Just when you think a series can not get any better well think again because Katie has done it again and you can not always believe what the movies say Vampires and Werewolfs can get along. In this installment Alyssa’s best friend Fallon accidently unleashes the very first vampire from Pandora’s Box and in order to stop the havoc it is causing Lysander and Clan travel to Boston to find his lost writings in hope of putting the evil that was released back in his prison and along the way they enlist the help of the local werewolf pack with the help of a witch.  I am no longer borderline obsessed with this series I am obsessed and dying to read the next installment in this awesome series.
After reading this series I contacted Katie and asked her if she would join us for the review today and answer a few questions and she said yes (YAY) FanGirling for sure now. My blog tour stop was scheduled for Jan. 25 and I recently found out by talking to Katie that Jan 25 is a special day for her it is her Birthday so I would like to say



HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!
and thank you so much for joining us today.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?


Well, I’m a mother of 2. I recently gave birth to a beautiful baby boy (He’s 7 weeks old today). I also have a little diva of a daughter (She’s 7 years old). They are both my little loves! I live in Sin City, Las Vegas, Nevada, which is where my Immortalis series begins. I’ve lived out here for about 15 years now and I thought it would be a really neat place to start off my vampire series. Think about it, what better place is there than 24 hour Las Vegas for a vampire to call home?


1. How was the Immortalis Series born so to speak?


It all started with a question: What would it be like to turn into a vampire?


Not the fantasy version where everything is perfect, I’m talking about a real blood sucking vampire who has to hide out from the sun and kill for its food. That’s where the Immortalis series was born. I wanted to explore the emotional upheaval that was the transition. I wanted to take readers on a first hand ride through what it might be like. Of course I didn’t want it to be all doom and gloom; there are some good parts to being a creature of the night, but I wanted to make it as realistic as I could and not gloss over the change and its effect on the main character.


2. Do you work with an outline or just write?


I’m a pantser. I like to write what the muse tells me. Originally, I tried outlining, but it felt too rigid. When I just let the story unfold instead of forcing it into a specific line, I found that it really took shape all on its own. The characters, in a sense, spoke to me and they found their own solutions and ways out of the conflicts I created for them.


3. How much research went into writing The Immortalis Series?


The Immortalis series has a lot of Greek Mythology in it. I based both my vampires and my werewolves on some of the old legends. The research behind it all was truly fascinating. I enjoyed learning about the gods, the curses they placed on humanity, the Pandora’s Box. It was really a lot of fun learning about them and then twisting them into my own story.


4. Do you have any rituals or quirks before or during your writing process? 


Nope. I just sit down and start typing. Being a pantser means that some days the words flow from my fingers to the keys with ease, and then on other days, I’ll sit and stare at my computer screen for hours with nothing to write. At times it can be very frustrating, but that is the only way I know how to do this.


5. A lot of authors have a playlist while writing do you have a playlist?


I don’t have a universal playlist. I have types of music I like to listen to. Music really helps set the mood for me. If I am writing an action scene, I need something with more of a hard beat to it. If I am writing a romantic scene, I might want something a little softer, lighter, and moody. It really depends on what I need at the time.


6. How did you choose the genre you write in?


I think the genre’s really chose me. I didn’t set out to write Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Romance. Originally, I envisioned Immortalis as a horror. It all goes back to being a pantser. I let the story dictate what it wanted to be and I found myself really liking to work within both of those genres.


7. How many books do you have planned for The Immoratlis Series? ( I am loving this series and hope there is no end anytime soon. )


I’d love to see the Immortalis series have the same type of longevity as say the Sookie Stackhouse series, or the Mercy Thompson series. Those books just keep the story going. I don’t have a set “end” for this series. As long as Alyssa keeps fumbling her way through the Unnatural world, I’ll keep telling her story.

As for now, keep your eyes open for book 4. I’m in the final phases of revisions and it should be going to my editor very soon. 

Yay that makes me happy because I do believe Alyssa has a lot more fumbling to do. ( She is a magnet for trouble) and I love it.


8. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author and what has been the best compliment given?


Actually, I think they both went hand in hand. I’ve had someone tell me they just could not stand Alyssa, the main character in the Immortalis series. They just hated her. She was naive, ignorant, and at times, bratty. But, in that same breath they complimented me on the realism of the character. She has a lot of learning to do and through the series she grows as a person and a vampire, but I had to start her somewhere. Though they hated her at first, she was so real they wanted to keep reading to see if she did “grow up.”


9. Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published if any?


Where do I begin? LoL. It took 5 years for me to write, rewrite, edit, and finally see Immortalis Carpe Noctem (the first book in the Immortalis series) take shape as a published work. I went through hundreds of agent and editor rejections. I then decided to take up the publishing part on my own. There was a steep learning curve there. Self-Publishing is no piece of cake. You truly are every part of the process: author, editor, cover designer, project manager, marketing director, event coordinator, etc… There was so much to learn and publishing that first book was 100% a hands on process.

With all that said, I am very glad I was able to do it. Seeing the book out there and hearing readers respond positively to it just makes my day! I cherish every reader I get!

10. Can you see yourself or anyone you know personally an any of your characters?


I think there is a little of me in all the characters. Alyssa’s naivety reminds me of my own youth. Nicholas’s antagonistic attitude, Rozalines mothering nature, Crystal’s friendly demeanor, Lysander’s secretiveness, they are all bits and pieces of me in a way, but they are not carbon copies.


11. If you could have any superpower what would it be and what would your kryptonite be?


I would love to be able to read people’s minds. To know what they are thinking when they give you those strange looks. You know what I’m talking about. Wouldn’t it be nice to peer into their head and know what’s going on in there?


Yes that would be awesome, but I always said if I had a superpower it would be to be omniscient.


I suppose though that my kryptonite would be not being able to shut out the voices completely. It could be horribly overwhelming to hear those voices all the time.


12. How and when did you know that you should become an author?


I don’t think there was one defining moment. I’ve always loved to be able to jot down stories or ideas. I have tons of old notebooks from my younger days. I wrote pretty silly things back then.

It’s always been there, a part of me.

Just for fun


Beach or Mountains?


Beach


White, Milk, or Dark Chocolate?


 Dark Chocolate… Mmmmmmm


Night Owl or Early Bird?


Night Owl, definitely a night owl!


Bed or Kitchen Table? (lol)


 Wouldn’t you like to know…. =)


Give or Receive?


Give


Pet Peeves?


 People who use the word “irregardless.” Actually, me and the hubby were laughing about that just the other night, words that are always said or used incorrectly.


and now to end


Do you have anything you would like to share with your readers?


Just my heartfelt thanks for taking the time to be here today and read the interview and perhaps check out my work. I really do cherish every one of you. Knowing people out there enjoy these crazy stories that pop out of my head is the reason I began publishing my work. I do hope you continue to enjoy.



*Hugs*


Places to find Immortalis series

Immortalis Carpe Noctem on Amazon
Hunters and Prey on Amazon
Pandora's Box on Amazon
Immortalis Omnibus Edition on Amazon
Immortalis Carpe Noctem on Books A Million
Hunters and Prey on Books A Million
Immortalis Omnibus Edition on Books A Million
Immortalis Carpe Noctem on Barnes and Noble
Hunters and Prey on Barnes and Noble
Pandora's Box on Barnes and Noble
Immortalis Omnibus Edition on Barnes and Noble
Or Signed Copies Here
Places to Find the Ah~May~Zing Katie Salidas
On Her Website Katie Salidas
Katie's Author Page on Facebook
Katie on Smashwords
Katie on Twitter
Katie on Goodreads



HAPPY READING !!!!!!
PLZ Share some love by leaving Katie a comment .

6 ARC Giveaway of Whisper Cape by Regan Walsh

Saturday, January 21, 2012
I would like to welcome back Regan Walsh Author of Whisper Cape. Today she has brought  an interview with Cael and Addison to share with us. She is also giving away  6 ARC’s of Whisper Cape she is totally fantastic and Whisper Cape is a page turner for sure. So if you do not win go BUY it you will not be disappointed I will include links for purchase at the end of this post.
Thanks to everyone for their questions.
It’s overcast. The forecast said it might be and then it should clear up by noon. I pull up to the little beach cottage and glance at my watch, 11:45. Well, so much for the clear skies. This is the Oregon coast, what did I expect?
I open the car door and climb out of my rented 2011 SLK 350 Roadster—nothing but the best to visit the two most amazing people I know. I am in awe of my surroundings. Even through the haze, this place is spectacular. The “beach house” is located on the ocean side of the road. The front door is actually around back, facing the ocean. I walk slowly in that direction through a beautiful, well-kept white trellis overflowing with wisteria, lovely, with purple flowers still blooming this time of year.
The interview is to start at noon. I’m early so I decide to take the extra fifteen minutes and walk across the expertly manicured lawn to the edge of the cliff. Wow! It looks just like the picture on the cover of the book.
clip_image001
I get out my camera and take this shot, and hear someone calling me from behind. I turn to see Addison waving from the door.
“Come on in,” she shouts.
I wave and start walking toward her. I almost swallow my tongue when Cael comes out and stands beside her. Yeah, he is as gorgeous as always. His dark hair is a little shorter these days, but it looks great.
If I could post a picture of them I would, but circumstance prevent me from revealing their identity to the world, so I have found two celebrities that I would want to play their characters in, Whisper Cape, the movie.
clip_image002
Marco Dapper would most definitely be Cael, or if we can’t get Marco, perhaps clip_image004
Henry Caville (the next superman) would do it.
clip_image005
Megan Fox could be Addison but I think we might have to give her some golden brown contact lenses.
When I reach them, we all hug, I try to keep my cool and follow them inside. The fireplace is lit; the room looks inviting with fluffy cushions in the corners of the red sofa and an open bottle of wine, a Chardonnay, and three glasses on the coffee table waiting to be filled. A spot of Dubliner cheese, my favorite, along with some fancy looking crackers embellish a crystal dish to the side. How did they know? Man, I am going to love this interview.
Addie gestures to the big comfy chair sitting adjacent to the sofa for me to sit. They sit on the sofa, Cael pours the wine and Addie offers me some cheese. I take a small piece, I have my weight to worry about and cheese just sticks to my hips, but I do love it.
Cael holds up his glass and says, “Here’s to Whisper Cape, a rewarding and exciting endeavor.”
“Hear hear!” I say and we all take a sip. “Hmmm … nice.”
I flip open my folder and say, “I have several questions from fans, so let’s begin. I’ll just read the name of the person who asked the question, followed by the question, if that’s okay.”
They nod.
Regan:
Our first question is from Renee Miller, author/contributor to Ménage à 20, Tales with a hook . “I'd like to ask Cael where his name originated. I've always liked this name and wondered if (for him) it has special meaning.”
(Cael smiles, that killer smile. I’m ready to melt. How does Addie deal with that?)
Cael:
Well, Renee, let me start by thanking you on behalf of my mother, since she gave me the name.
Let’s see if I can get this right. From what she told me, CÁEL is an Irish Gaelic name derived from the word caol, meaning "slender." In Celtic mythology, Cael is the name of a warrior of the
Fianna. The correct spelling would have the accent above the a; however, my mother left it off my birth certificate, so I would have an easier time in school. The Fianna, also called the Fianna Eireann clan was a warrior band, established to protect the King of Ireland. The Celts divided their people by clans and by social classes. If you just think of it as Kay-el, it is a little easier to pronounce.
Regan:
I have another question from Renee:
“Cael, why didn't you just play the victim when you and Addie first met? You might have had an easier time of it.;)” She added one of those little winked smiley faces for you.
Cael:
When I first encountered Addison, or was it she who sort of ran into me? (He grinned and took a sip of his wine) I didn’t know who she was and there was no reason, at that time, to think I would need to do any explaining to her. Keeping my secret and avoiding any confrontation about my abilities was far more important. But you are right, of course; it would have been easier just to play the victim if I had known I needed to connect with her. Too bad we don’t have hindsight, right? Or would that be foresight in this case?
Regan:
This next question comes from Eden Chase, author of Snow Angel and Saying Grace. “I would like to ask Addie if she is curious about any women that might be in Cael's past. I mean, the man is drop-dead-gorgeous, so he has to have attracted the interest of other females before her, right?”
Addie:
Cael is drop-dead-gorgeous? I hadn’t noticed. (Cael frowns at her and she grins, showing that cute little dimple at the left side of her mouth that he adores.) Just kidding. Yes, he is, but we wouldn’t want that going to his head. (She fiddles with her fingers then brushes her hair behind her ear in an nervous sort of way). I don’t worry too much here in Whisper Cape. It’s such a small town, so everybody knows we are a couple now. His past is another story. He has told me a bit about his former relationships, or as he claims, lack of same. It is understandable, to be quite honest, that he might have had a difficult time in that area with anyone other than someone like me. I do believe that it would be difficult to hide what he is capable of doing from someone he was close to, intimately that is. He is too honest and I’m sure it would kill him not to be able to share that side of himself.
I pause here and take a sip of that excellent wine and then place the glass back down on the coffee table.
Regan:
Here’s a question from Pam Ripling, aka, Anne Carter, author of Point Surrender and Cape Seduction and various other great novels. “It's been awhile since I read this wonderful book, but I do remember wondering about Cael's ability to transport. Wouldn't he just be tempted to go places all the time? Where else has he traveled (besides the speedy trips he ‘took’ Addie on, LOL).”
Cael:
Funny you should ask this. Addison and I just returned from a trip to Bora Bora, a magnificent place. (He takes Addie’s hand in his and they smile at each other.) We were there for three weeks. A much-needed and deserved rest for both of us, I might add. Yes, I’ve always been tempted to take off when the situation allows and I have seen the world, but I found traveling by myself to be a huge bore. It is much nicer now to have Addison to take along with me. Hmmm … you’ve just given me an excellent idea.
Regan:
Now a question from Grace Sheridan, author/contributor to Simply Seductive Summer Stories. “I have a question for Addie. Does it hurt when you perform a certain task?”
Addie:
Actually, yes. (She glances at Cael who looks a little shocked at her answer.) I’ve never complained about it before. I was always too busy being freaked out about it to notice. I guess I’ve become used to it. It only hurts right before I do it though, so it’s not really all that bad.
At first, it was all so scary and I didn’t really want anything to do with my abilities, but now that I know how it feels to lose control of my mind, I am glad I have them. That pain has become more of a comfort, knowing what comes from it. Meeting some of the others at the Sectorium has made it little easier for me to accept who I am. Just knowing there are other people in this world capable of some pretty remarkable stuff is comforting and the pain doesn’t seem so bad.
Regan:
Here’s another question from Grace. “Addie, didn't you ever ask questions about your mother when you were younger?”
Addie:
All the time. I think I drove my father crazy. When I was, I don’t know, maybe a pre-teen, Maia and I would spend hours sitting on the floor in the living room, looking at pictures of my mother and my grandparents. We were never able to do it when my father was around. He simply couldn’t deal with seeing her face. He never got over her death. Whenever he went out of town though, I would beg Maia for a night of no TV and just talking and looking at the photo albums. Maia really didn’t know enough about my mom to actually give me much information, but it was nice to look at the pictures and listen to stories of my grandparents. It helped Maia too, I think, to talk about her mom and dad; she was so young when they died. By the way, I love Grace’s last name.
Regan:
I have a question for each of you. Addie, you first, what is the thing you love most about Cael?
Addie:
(Blushes). Um … that would be—
(She stops here, shakes her head.) I can’t.
Cael:
Seriously?
Addie:
Okay. It would have to be the way he talks to me when we’re lying alone in bed. The sound of his voice close to my ear, the way his skin feels next to mine, and the way he makes me feel special. Cherished.
(She sighs and looks at Cael and we sit in silence for a few seconds.)
Regan:
What about you, Cael? What is the thing you love most about Addie?
Cael:
(Swallows). She has this quirky little habit, (he smirks and shakes his head). Okay, I won’t go there. Addison is the most sensual woman I’ve ever encountered. I love the way her mouth curves into that dimple on the left side and I love the way she looks when she’s defiant and being stubborn, and … when she is completely satiated. I love the way she smells, a mixture of apricots and peaches. She has this new stuff, too. I haven’t been able to pin point the scent, but it’s been driving me crazy.
(He looks to Addie; she shrugs.)
Cael:
Addison makes me feel like the man I’ve always wanted to be. I care about life more, about how she feels. I’ve never cared about another person the way I do her. She’s become my world. Everything I do now, I think of how she will react. I want to share everything with her. I would die to protect her.
At this point, the interview is basically over and we enjoy a little idle chitchat, off the record. The bottle of wine is almost empty. I did eat a few more squares of cheese than I had intended.
Regan:
Thank you both very much for the warm welcome into your home. It is absolutely lovely. What I wouldn’t give to live here.
Addie:
Regan, you know we love you and we always enjoy your visits.
Cael:
Come back anytime and if you ever need some inspiration or story ideas, you can call on us. We’re always here.
Regan:
Right.
I gather up my notes and recorder and walk to the door. Cael and Addie follow. I turn to leave, pause, and glance back at them. I have one more question. “Any chance of a baby in the near future?”
Cael says, “Yes!”
Addie counters with, “No!”
I nod and walk back through the trellis toward my car, grinning.
Thanks for reading.
Regan♥
Now that was a fun interview. Let me just tell you after you read Whisper Cape you are gonna want more that is how good this book is. You are gonna become a stalker by stalking Regan and begging for more I know I did after I read it. You can find my previous review and interview with Regan here . Now like I promised are the links to which you can get your very own copy of this awesome book and totally stalk this ah~may~zing author.


Where You Can Find Regan Regan's website
Regan's Blog
Regan On Twitter
Regan On Goodreads

Where You Can Fund Whisper CapeWhisper Cape on Goodreads
Whisper Cape On Facebook
Whisper Cape on Amazon
Whisper Cape On Barnes and Noble
Whisper Cape On Amber Glow Books
Whisper Cape on Smashwords
Whisper Cape on All Romance Ebooks and Omni Lit
Whisper Cape on iTunes


Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn Review

Sunday, January 15, 2012
Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn


Goodreads Blurb
On one side of the border lies the modern world: the internet, homecoming dances, cell phones. On the other side dwell the ancient monsters who spark humanity's deepest fears: dragons.
Seventeen-year-old Kay Wyatt knows she's breaking the law by rock climbing near the border, but she'd rather have an adventure than follow the rules. When the dragon Artegal unexpectedly saves her life, the rules are abruptly shattered, and a secret friendship grows between them.
But suspicion and terror are the legacy of human and dragon interactions, and the fragile truce that has maintained peace between the species is unraveling. As tensions mount and battles begin, Kay and Artegal are caught in the middle. Can their friendship change the course of a war?
In her young-adult debut, New York Times bestselling author Carrie Vaughn presents a distinctly twenty-first-century tale of myths and machines, and an alliance that crosses a seemingly unbridgeable divide.





Purchased this book because I Love The Kitty Norville Series by Carrie Vaughn. Being Carrie’s first YA Novel I really loved it from beginning to end. Kay is your typical teenager, with good friends, and a  loving family. Everything she could want until an accident on a hiking trail where she meets a new friend a dragon named Artegal. Finding that they can talk to each other she flies with him until getting caught and border intrusions cause a war between humans and dragons. After losing her father she starts to take action into her own hands. Showing everyone that humans and dragons can coexist together. After this comes  more fighting between the two rivals. Kay makes the ultimate sacrifice and sacrifices herself for love of her mother , best friend, and a boy she has fallen in love with.
In all saying I believe
Carrie Vaughn has hit it again with Voices of Dragons.




MY ONLY FAULT WITH THIS NOVEL IS THAT THERE IS NO SEQUEAL TO THIS NOVEL YET . HOPES ARE HIGH FOR MORE TO COME WITH THIS NOVEL.
CHECK OUT THE FIRST CHAPTER
HERE.


RATING
QQQQQ


Reviewed by SMD

The Nightmare Garden by Caitlin Kittredge

Monday, January 9, 2012

the-nightmare-garden-by-caitlin-kittredge

Genre: YA- Steampunk

Publication Date: February 14, 2012

Goodreads Blurb

Everything Aoife thought she knew about the world was a lie. There is no Necrovirus. And Aoife isn't going to succumb to madness because of a latent strain—she will lose her faculties because she is allergic to iron. Aoife isn't human. She is a changeling—half human and half from the land of Thorn. And time is running out for her.
When Aoife destroyed the Lovecraft engine she released the monsters from the Thorn Lands into the Iron Lands and now she must find a way to seal the gates and reverse the destruction she's ravaged on the world that's about to poison her.

Special Excerpt from The Fantastic Author Herself Caitlin Kittredge

Before me stood a figure twice as tall as I, only a shadow, smooth and without feature. I stayed still, unsure of my footing in the dream. I always felt only vaguely attached to my dream-body, as if my mind were floating free in the void of outer space and my body were waiting back on Earth.

Behind the figure, a great gear rose, half of it above the platform on which we stood. Above us, a hundred skies turned by, sunrises and sunsets, skylines and the blackness of space. And in those skies things twisted and writhed, great tentacles of darkness coming down to merge and mingle with the shadow figure before me.

I found I could speak, which wasn’t always the case in these madness dreams—for that was surely what this was, brought on by the iron of Windhaven. “Where am I?”

The figure stared back impassively. I knew he was staring, despite his lack of eyes or any features at all. I could feel his gaze, hot and penetrating. Beyond him, beyond the gear and the platform, the skies spun faster. They were more than skies now—it was as if we were inside a giant dome, and lantern reels in the thousands and millions were projected onto the glass sides.

“Where am I?” I asked again.

The figure reached out a hand. It was fathomless, black smoke in the shape of a human thing, and I felt cold emanate from the shadow as it drew closer to me. The tentacles writhed faster, lashing, and from all around us came a great moaning, which vibrated the dome to its core and came up through my feet into my bones.

“Who are you?” the figure hissed. “Why did you come here?”

“You tell me,” I whispered, my lips barely able to move from the frozen air of the dream and my own fear. This felt too strong, too real, to be purely a result of the iron around me. The madness was getting worse. I was starting to believe my own dreams. I dug my fingers into my palms, but in this dream place, I felt no pain. That didn’t soothe my worries any.

“I don’t know where here is,” I said. The great gear behind the figure began to turn, and as it did the tentacles retreated, the black figures floating in the skies shrinking away. In my ears, and through the dome, a thousand screams echoed.

“You shouldn’t be here,” the figure told me. “This isn’t your dream. This isn’t a dream at all.”

Then, as if I’d fallen from a great height, I snapped awake.

Links for Ordering

The Nightmare Garden

The Iron Thorn (paperback edition)

Caitlin is hosting an AWESOME GIVEAWAY please go check it out here.

Untouched by Jus Accardo Cover Reveal

Untouched-cover

Expected publication: February 21st 2012 from entangled publishing

Look AT all of kale’s hotness those piercing blue eyes wow

go add this to your goodreads tbr pile

Untouched

Preservation by Rachael Wade Sneak Peek

Thursday, January 5, 2012

I am happy to give all my wonderful followers a sneak peek into Rachael’s newest novel Preservation. I must say this sneak peek is a teaser that is gonna make you wish you could read the whole thing right now. so once again Rachael is gonna give us a novel that we are gonna want to put at the top of our tbr pile. so without farther ado here it is

5.5"X8.5" Post Card Template Blurb

Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon.

Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage.

When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor.

But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first

Expected publication: May 25th 2012 by Rabbit Hole Press

Adult Contemporary Romance / Realistic Fiction

Sneak peek time and you know it is gonna be good with a tag line that is as gripping and intriguing as ‘ Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon. ‘

Preservation Sneak Peek

That night, I made sure to arrive at the pool at my usual time. I didn’t want to stay a minute longer than normal, knowing Ryan would be showing up soon. The last thing I wanted was to get all flustered around him again like a total fool and feed his ego.

I did one final lap and ducked down to let the water rush over my head, slowly coming up for one more relaxing breath of air.

And there he was. Sitting on the ledge, looking over at me.

“Kate. Will you let me apologize for earlier today?”

“Ryan. You’re early.” I rolled my eyes and pulled myself up and out of the pool. As I stood to my feet, he slipped in.

“I didn’t mean to bite your head off like that. I’m sorry, really. I want to know what you came to talk to me about after class.”

I towel-dried my hair and began collecting my things, stuffing everything in my bag. Why not? Might as well tell him.

“I just thought I’d tell you that I’m going to be published.” I wrapped the towel around my torso, slinging my bag over my shoulder. “Not the piece you read, but something else. That’s it.”

“That’s it?” He flew out of the pool and lunged forward to hug me. “Congratulations! That’s really...well I’m not surprised. Your work is brilliant. It inspires me, actually.”

I jutted my head back, did a double take. “What? Inspires you?”

He put his hands on his hips and stared at me with bright, flickering eyes. They were on fire. “Yes, me.” He tapped my shoulder. “Just because I’m a professor doesn’t mean my students’ work can’t inspire me.”

I narrowed my eyes then glanced around, trying to understand his instant mood shift. His smile was blinding, wide and enthusiastic—unlike anything I’d ever seen.

“You look thoroughly disturbed.” He chuckled and crossed his arms. Wet. Dripping wet.

“You’re moody. I can’t figure you out, that’s all.” I let out an exasperated sigh. “One minute you’re really easygoing and nice to talk to, and the next...”

“I’m a total ass. Yes, it’s a part of my charm. You’ll have to forgive me.” He glanced down at his bare feet, sexy grin still intact. I refused to let my eyes wander to his tattoos. “I’m stubborn, get pissed if I can’t have my way, and I’m always guaranteed to make someone feel like shit at least once a day.” He shrugged. “But I admire and value good writing when I see it, and I don’t mean to treat my students that way. Especially you.” He held out his hand, waiting for me to shake. “Truce?” His hand hung in midair, the other perched on his hip.

Reluctantly, I slipped my palm into his and gently shook, noticing his gaze drift from my eyes to my lips. I stepped back. “You’re forgiven. And just for the record...you inspire me, too. That’s what I wanted to tell you this morning. You get this spark when you talk about my writing...well, writing in general. Your passion is inspiring. And sincere.” I nodded, tucking my hair behind my ear. “But if you’re an ass to me again, three strikes you’re out.” A small grin seized my lips.

He stood there, eyes soft, body wet, black ink calling my name. “Deal, Ms. Parker. So when and where is your work going to be published?”

“As far as I know, the spring issue of The Morning Theatric. It’s a drama-focused literary magazine.” The weight of my bag began cutting into my shoulder, and the temptation to lust after his body art was becoming unbearable. “But I better go; I’ll send you a copy when it’s published, okay?”

“All right,” he leisurely turned and slipped back into the pool. “I look forward to it.”

“See you around.”

“Hey, Kate!”

I stopped and turned to him.

“Come see me after class again next week. I have something you might be interested in. You won’t be able to resist.” He smirked and deadpanned me, biting his lip.

Holy hell.

“Oh? Okay, well we’ll see about that.” My eyebrows twitched in amusement but I worked to repress my own smirk, turning on my heel for the door. My instinct told me not to venture into his playful territory, but cue the Hallelujah chorus was all I could think.

Preservation, an adult contemporary romance/ realistic fiction novel by Rachael Wade, author of the paranormal romance series, The Resistance Trilogy. Add it to your Goodreads to-read shelf today!

Happy reading !!!!!

Winners of Whisper Cape by Regan Walsh

Tuesday, January 3, 2012
Blogger Congratz Sign
To
Entry # 105 Gena R
&
Entry # 146 Pam R

 
 

I would like to thank everyone that stopped by to show your support for Regan Walsh and her debut novel Whisper Cape.
Happy Reading !!!
 
 
 
from

Toxic (Denazen #2) by Jus Accardo

Monday, January 2, 2012

I am showing a cover reveal of one f my anticipated reads of 2012. Toxic book #2 in the Denazen Series. And I must say this cover is HOT the people at Entangled Publishing Rock.

Expected publication: May 1st 2012 by Entangled Publishing

Toxic_cover

Here's the blurb:

When a Six saved Kale’s life the night of Sumrun, she warned there would be consequences. A trade-off. Something taken for the life they gained. But Dez never imagined she’d lose the one thing she’d give anything to keep… And as if it’s not enough Dez finds her immunity to Kale fading, the Six brought in to help Kale learn to control his killer touch starts drooling on him the moment they meet. Worse than that? Jade can touch Kale. But bimbo Barbie is the least of Dez's problems.

After Dez and Kale got away at Sumrun, her father lost not only his most powerful weapon but an important piece of the Supremacy project. Forced by Denazen to remedy the situation, he poisons Dez and offers her a choice—surrender to Denazen for the cure…or die. Determined to find a solution that doesn’t involve being bagged and tagged—or losing someone she loves—Dez keeps the poison a secret.  But when a rash of Denazen attacks hit a little too close to home, Dez is convinced there’s a traitor among them. Jade.

Sacrifices, broken promises, and secrets. Dez will have to lay it all on the line if there’s any hope of proving Jade’s guilt before they all end up Residents of Denazen. Or worse, dead...

Book One in this Series was totally awesome so if you do not have it go get it and read it that way you are prepared for this awesome book.

ShareThis