Hushed By Kelley York Blog Tour

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Author: Kelley York
Genre: YA/Drama
Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
Published: 6 December 2011

hushed_thumb1
Here’s the back cover blurb:
“He’s saved her. He’s loved her. He’s killed for her. Eighteen-year-old Archer couldn’t protect his best friend, Vivian, from what happened when they were kids, so he’s never stopped trying to protect her from everything else. It doesn’t matter that Vivian only uses him when hopping from one toxic relationship to another—Archer is always there, waiting to be noticed. Then along comes Evan, the only person who’s ever cared about Archer without a single string attached. The harder he falls for Evan, the more Archer sees Vivian for the manipulative hot-mess she really is. But Viv has her hooks in deep, and when she finds out about the murders Archer’s committed and his relationship with Evan, she threatens to turn him in if she doesn’t get what she wants… And what she wants is Evan’s death, and for Archer to forfeit his last chance at redemption.”
About The Author
Kelley-York_thumb


Kelley was born and raised in central California, where she still resides with her lovely wife, daughter, and an abundance of pets. (Although she does fantasize about moving across the globe to Ireland.) She has a fascination with bells, adores all things furry - be them squeaky, barky
or meow-y - is a lover of video games, manga and anime, and likes to pretend she's a decent photographer. Her life goal is to find a real unicorn. Or maybe a mermaid.
Within young adult, she enjoys writing and reading a variety of genres from contemporary with a unique twist, psychological thrillers, paranormal/urban fantasy and horror. She loves stories where character development takes center stage.

My Interview with the Awesome Kelley York

First Kelley I would like to say thank you for stopping by my blog Read Between The Lines and talking with us about your recently released debut novel Hushed. 
To get things started could you tell us a little bit about yourself?
My name is Kelley, and I’m a young adult author who...uh, specializes? (Likes? Primarily writes?) dark fiction. I grew up in central California, and I have way too many pets.
1. What was the inspiration behind Hushed the book was Dark and Beautifully written?
Thank you! Archer was my inspiration. I got the idea for him, and then everything else fell into place around him. He isn’t the driving force of the novel (in my opinion), but obviously, he’s the biggest factor in everything that happens. 
2. A lot of authors have playlist for writing did you have a playlist while writing Hushed? 
I do! I made a blog post about this awhile back, in fact, sharing my entire playlist and casting choices. Dream Cast and Music One of the songs I listened to a lot while writing was ‘What Sarah Said’ by Death Cab for Cutie, and ‘Meds’ by Placebo. 
3. Do you have a favorite time of day or even a special place you go to when writing?
My favorite time and place to write is...whenever I have time and wherever I can, haha! I’m really pressed for time, so my writing time is spaced into small areas wherever I can fit it. Often, it’s on lunches and breaks during my day-job. 
4. How long did it take from start to finish to have Hushed published?
Oh, that's hard to say. I took about 5 months to write the book. I spent another 5-6 months querying. (This is just a guesstimate, though.) In June, 2011, I got my contract offer and six months later, it was published. 
5. Do you have any other WIP that you can share some info on?
I have another LGBT book I'm working on, but I can't give away much more than that! 
6. Have you always wanted to be a writer or is this something new?
I used to want to be an artist. A few years back, I got really burnt out on drawing and I hardly pick up a pencil anymore. I've written for as long as I can remember, but only when I wasn't occupied by drawing all the time did I dive into writing full-length novels and realize it was what I wanted to do for a living.
7. Do you have any authors that maybe inspired you to want to write if so who are they?
Not really. I wasn't reading much at all when I finished my first book. I read maybe three or four books a year. It wasn't until around the time I started HUSHED that I began picking books up again at a steady pace. (I've managed to read almost 50 in 2011, and I'm very proud of myself for that!) When I was little, though, I devoured things by Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume. And my favorite books were THE LAST UNICORN along with MRS. FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH. They may not have inspired me to write, but they sure did spark my imagination.
Just For Fun 
Favorite Candy?
Truffles! I love truffles. Also, banana-flavored runts. 
Coffee or Tea?
Ick, neither! I'm a soda girl.
Favorite Book Genres?
Dark Young Adult. I'm partial to horror and thrillers. 
Favorite Season?
Winter! Fall comes in at a close second.
And do you have anything you would like to say or share with your readers?

Read, read, read !


Review Time 5/5


 My copy was provided by Entangled Publishing for review for part of the Hushed Blog Tour

This story deals with how the human psyche can be fragile and interweaves raw emotion with beautiful characters. When I read this book it brought out a lot of emotion in me I cried and I laughed and it even made my heart all warm and fuzzy. I fell in love with Archer and Evan but not so much Vivian.


Hushed is a Dark and Beautifully Written story about a guy Archer Pond willing to kill and has killed and forced some to take their own life in hopes of getting is best friend back Vivian who he was forced to watch being raped by her brothers friends. Since the rape Vivian as been on a downward spiral and Archer feels responsible for what happened because he was not able to stop it when it happened. So he made a promise to him self to get revenge for what happened to free him self of the guilt over what happened and and hope to free Vivian also. Along the way a guy Evan came into their lives and upon that happening Archer well sorta feel in love with Evan and outa love with Vivian which only infuriated her. Vivian wanted nothing to do with Archer romantically until Evan showed up and showed Archer that he did not need to be the monster that he was. That there was redemption for what he has done and a way to live life with out all the drama that Vivian only seem to bring to Archer with her constant failed relationships. This story is Dark and Gritty and captivates you from the beginning Kelley just takes you right into the world with no going back. This is a must read.


Some Hushed Praise


'Kelley York delivers in this impressive debut. I was at the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next! Bottom line, this wasunputdownable!!!'


--- YA Fantasy Guide ---


'How exciting that we live in a time when gay teen protagonists can be just as screwed up as straight ones -- and their stories just as creepy!'


--- Brent Hartinger, award-winning author of Geography Club and Shadow Walkers ---

Now Here is where you can find Hushed and Kelley


Hushed
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Kelley York
Kelley's Website
Goodreads
Twitter

Whisper Cape By Regan Walsh Guest Author Post

Sunday, December 25, 2011
Blurb from Goodreads
Escape to a world where the impossible becomes possible.
WHISPER CAPE is a town of secrets and Addison MacKenna soon becomes tangled in a web of them. Plagued with nightmares of her father’s sudden and brutal death, Addie struggles with her anguish and refuses to believe his demise was accidental.
Fighting to shake off one of those devastating early morning nightmares, Addison finds it even harder to escape from the vision of a man lying on the side of the road—a man she may have just killed. When she frantically tries to locate him, he seemingly disappears, just the beginning of strange occurrences in her life. She also cannot ignore the weird sensations in her own body. Suddenly, the impossible seems possible, but is that a blessing or a curse?
Believing that her continual and worsening nightmares are both the key to her own new abilities and the clue to her father’s death, Addie knows she will not rest until she has the answers she craves. As she strives to cope with her new remarkable talents, someone else learns of her abilities—a disgruntled maniacal psychopath with his own agenda that involves eliminating Addie. The only one who can protect her, instruct her in the use of her powers and teach her how to destroy the murderous monster is the same man who makes Addie’s heart race and her blood heat with passion. The same man she’d left for dead.
Cael Sheridan may be arrogant and mysterious but he's also undeniably gorgeous. A member of a secret society, he is sworn to protect the woman he believes to be the daughter of his recently murdered mentor. In the process, he finds it impossible to resist her magnetic sensuality, complicating his efforts to shield and guide her as she learns to manage her newly acquired skills. At the same time, Addison has much to teach him about trust and commitment. Fate has brought them together, but will it make them stronger or destroy them both in end?


Published October 15th 2011 by Amber Glow Books

On to the interview:


As I like to do with all of my guest post.

To start things off could you tell us a little bit about yourself?


First, let me thank you for inviting me to your blog and setting up this wonderful interview and giveaway.


I am a mother of five—a daughter, two sons, and two stepsons. They are all grown and now I have seven grand angels. I am a full time writer, blogger, reader, lover and daydreamer. When I’m not doing those things, I’m either quilting or watching TV and sometimes—not as much as I should—jogging.


1. Do you work with an outline or just write?


These days, I work with an outline, pictures and anything else I can find to help develop my plot and characters. I don’t always stick to it, but it helps. When I wrote Whisper Cape, though, I just sat down and wrote. I do believe I had the help of a ghostly muse.


2. Have you always wanted to be a writer?


I think secretly, yes. Writing is something I’ve always loved. But it wasn’t something I thought about all the time. I was busy raising three kids and being a single mom, working full time in order to make ends meet. When my kids were grown and out of the house, I remarried. My husband and I sold our business and all of a sudden, I had a bunch of time on my hands. After spending hours making quilts, I needed something more challenging and mentioned to a friend that I wanted to write a book. Once I said the words out loud, I decided to sit down at my computer and try it, mostly just to see if I could do it. Ten years ago, if someone had told me I would write a book, I’d have laughed and told them they were crazy.



3. Where did the idea of Whisper Cape come from?

To be quite honest, I really don’t know. It all came to me as I was writing. I didn’t start with an outline or anything, and I had no idea where it was headed or how it would end. It is most definitely character driven. Addie and Cael are real to me, and the story really came from them. As I mentioned above, I do believe I had the help of a ghostly muse. At the time I wrote Whisper Cape, we lived in an eighty-year-old house that I believe, to this day, was haunted with a very loving and friendly ghost. My computer was set up in the downstairs bedroom, actually, it was more of a finished basement, and as I sat there, day after day, typing, I felt the spirit around me, encouraging me.

4. Have you ever written a character that resembles your personality or the personality of someone close to you?


All the time. Not so much someone close to me, but there is definitely a little bit of me in my all female characters. I tend to be a bit quirky and I think that comes out frequently in my female characters. The male characters are usually totally from my imagination with the exception of Gerry in Whisper Cape. He is based on my perception of Gerard Butler, and yes, I am a huge fan. In fact, I listened to The Phantom of the Opera almost constantly during the time of writing Whisper Cape. I can’t write while listening to music—I need total silence—but the CD was playing every time I drove my car or went jogging.


5. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?


Oooh. This is a loaded question. Haha. I did enjoy the sex scenes of course, but without giving too much away, I would have to say that it was the kitchen scene where Addie practices her techniques on Cael. I had a blast writing that one, putting myself in Cael’s head. When I finished writing it, I was so jazzed that ran upstairs and acted it out in front of my husband who just stood there with an amused smirk on his face. 


6. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?


I started writing in September of 2007. That is when I started Whisper Cape and finished the first draft December 15, 2007. I wrote every day, eight or nine hours a day. When I was finished the first draft, I set it aside to enjoy the holidays. I didn’t look at it again until February 1, 2008. I read it from beginning to end and then removed scenes and added different ones. I think I edited it at least four or five times before it was picked up for eBook publication in March 2011, and of course, I had to edit it again.


7. If you could ask yourself any interview question, what would you ask, and how would you answer?


I think I would ask me what I enjoy most about writing. I love creating the story. I love shutting myself up in my office and putting myself in my character’s head. I love getting lost in the scene and the dialog and sometimes get so carried away with the emotion, I need to go back and add in some of the basics like setting. It is very typical for me to write a scene and get sucked in so much that I need to physically pull myself away, sometimes take a shower and that is where so many ideas form and I’m able to go back and add all those little important things. But most of all, and even though I do write for me, I love to have other people read my work and I love to hear back from them.


8.  Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?


Keep writing no matter what. The best thing that can happen from constantly writing is that you improve. Put your work out there and get people to read it and give suggestions. Someone else’s eyes are better at catching the something that you missed. Just never give up.


9.  Are you working on any new projects?

A couple. I have a young adult novel, Allusive Aftershocks—a story of fear, love, hate, devastation, and survival. It’s about a seventeen-year-old girl, Abella, and a boy, Courtland, who become trapped in a wine cellar when it caves in on them after a very strong aftershock caused from a devastating major earthquake. The story takes place close to my home in the surrounding foothills so I’m excited to get it finished. I recently finished a complete rewrite and will go through a similar process as I did with WC on editing. I'm looking forward to the final stages of editing. Then, of course, there is the sequel to Whisper Cape, A Whisper at Death.

I have some short stories published in an anthology, which can be found on my Goodreads page “Summer Sun and Sand.”
 
Just for Fun

1 Dark, Milk, or White Chocolate?


Dark


2 Coffee or Tea?


Both


3 Favorite Genre to Read?


Paranormal Romance and Young Adult


4 Favorite Season?


Summer


5 Favorite Music?

Phantom of the Opera

I want to thank you, Anna, for having me on your blog. You give an awesome interview and I wish you and your readers a wonderful holiday and a very good New Year!\
Look at this awesome book trailer.

Whisper Cape Book Trailer

Review Time and Ladies this book is SCORCHING HOT

Whisper Cape
This fantastic  debut  novel by Regan Walsh is hard almost impossible to put down. So when you pick it up make sure you have time to read cause you are not gonna wanna put it down. The characters she has created are ah~may~zing and you can relate to them even the ones with the supernatural powers. This story can and will take you on a sensual and yet suspenseful ride of your life. Addison the main character has to learn to trust Cael ( UM just Yummy) (ladies when you read this book you are gonna wish you had a Cael of your own) who is out to protect her from the thing that has killed her father and wants to kill her but not before he gets what he wants from her a journel and a crystal. When the journal and crystal are seperate they are harmless but together they are powerful.
Addison struggles with nightmares every night since her father has passed and is determined to figure out the truth behind his death. On her way to finding the truth she meets the mysterious Cael and soon discoveries that she has special abilities that was passed down to her by her dad who at one time was in charge of a secret society that Addie had no clue existed until she met Cael. Now the fate of everyone is in Addie's and Cael's hands they have to kill Eidolon (one might say demon) that has killed Addie's father and out to kill her. Eidolon wants the journel and crystal so that he can become all powerful and destory everything that will not obey him. Sorry guys I do not give any real spoilers I want you to read it and find all the delicious and juicy details on your own and believe me this book will delivery some delicious scene that will make your temperature run hot .
I give this book 5/5 stars this book was simply FANTASTIC and if you have not read it yet put it at the top of your TBR Pile you will not be disappointed. Regan has created a setting that is beautiful and characters that could actually be your next door neighbor.

Where You Can Find Regan
Regan's website
Regan's Blog
Regan On Twitter
Regan On Goodreads 

Where You Can Whisper Cape
Whisper Cape on Goodreads
Whisper Cape On Facebook
Whisper Cape on Amazon
Whisper Cape On Barnes and Noble
Whisper Cape On Amber Glow Books
Whisper Cape on Smashwords
Whisper Cape on All Romance Ebooks and Omni Lit
Whisper Cape on iTunes


Cover Reveal for Chosen Ones by Tiffany Truitt

Thursday, December 22, 2011
CO-500px
What if you were mankind’s last chance at survival?

Sixteen-year-old Tess lives in a compound in what was once the Western United States, now decimated after a devastating fourth World War. But long before that, life as we knew it had been irrevocably changed, as women mysteriously lost the ability to bring forth life. Faced with the extinction of the human race, the government began the Council of Creators, meant to search out alternative methods of creating life. The resulting artificial human beings, or Chosen Ones, were extraordinarily beautiful, unbelievably strong, and unabashedly deadly.
Life is bleak, but uncomplicated for Tess as she follows the rigid rules of her dystopian society, until the day she begins work at Templeton, the training facility for newly created Chosen Ones. There, she meets James, a Chosen One whose odd love of music and reading rivals only her own. The attraction between the two is immediate in its intensity—and overwhelming in its danger.
But there is more to the goings-on at Templeton than Tess ever knew, and as the veil is lifted from her eyes, she uncovers a dark underground movement bent not on taking down the Chosen Ones, but the Council itself. Will Tess be able to stand up to those who would oppress her, even if it means giving up the only happiness in her life?














Chosen Ones
The Lost Souls #1
Author: Tiffany Truitt
Reading Level: YA
Release Date: April 2012
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Thursday, December 15, 2011
This Book Trailer Looks Awesome CK it out guys and leave a comment telling me what u think

Bookish: BOX of BOOKS - Huge INTERNATIONAL Giveaway!

Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Bookish: BOX of BOOKS - Huge INTERNATIONAL Giveaway!:

'via Blog this'

Darkspell by Elizabeth Mueller Guest Author Post and E-Copy Giveaway

DARKSPELLEMueller
Winter Sky believes she is everything ordinary . . . until she is kissed by Alex Stormhold.
As seer of Stormhold Coven, Alex is sworn to be Winter’s protector against the darkness that hunts her. Violently thrust into a magickal realm she always thought impossible, she stumbles upon a disturbing secret of her own.
Will love prove thicker than magick?

Review
Darkspell awesome title because this book will leave you spellbound and wanting more. I won this book through a giveaway and was very excited to read it. The story is fresh and very original and draws you into a world where everything seems normal but is far from it. This story as all kinds of twist that keeps you thinking. Our journey is with  Winter Sky and the dreams she keeps having until the guy of her Dreams (Alex) turns up in reality and living not far from her. And the two of them go on a journey to figure out the secret that she has stumbled upon when she is thrown into a world of magick and a love like no other. This is a YA book but readers of all ages will fall in love with the world that Elizabeth has created. And the drawings that Elizabeth drew to correspond with some of the scenes in the book are beautiful.
Interview with Elizabeth Mueller ElizabethMueller photo

As I like to do with all my guest post.
Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am mother of 4 kids who loves to sing, dance, draw and write! I’ve been writing since I was 9, starting off with simple poetry, working my way up to short stories and now novels! I have written a few children’s books, not yet published.

1. What was the inspiration behind Darkspell?

It all bloomed from a single prompt at my library’s writing group. I found it on Gail Carson Levine’s Writing Magic—you can find that prompt within the first 30 pages of Darkspell. As I started the novel out, I could just feel Alex’s character as he drew the hex on Winter’s arm, but she didn’t figure out what it was until later on. The plot just unfolded as I went along writing their story.

2. Do you have any writing quirks or rituals?

Both! I make sure that I’m spiritually fed before sitting down to write. I ask for three things: motivation, creativity and inspiration to write. The house has to be quiet or at least the kids need to be in their rooms enjoying an hour of quiet time. I’ve tried writing with blasting music or television. Nope, I can’t do that. My hands can’t feel tight, so I have a bottle of lotion handy as well as a tall drink of water.

3. And now those drawings in the book where absolutely beautiful what came first the drawings or the scenes that connect the two?

Thank you! The illustrations came much, much later. It was an afterthought. I asked my publisher if I could illustrate after I submitted my edits. I’m so grateful that she agreed. It was quite an adventure, drawing them, considering that the models are my 15 year-old daughter and 12 year-old son. Can you tell which “Winter” is my 9 year-old? It was a blast!

4. From just the thought of this book to peoples  bookshelves  how long did it take?

It took me about 3 months to write Darkspell from start to finish. I did 3 rewrites along with several edits. I shelved it for 2 ½ years after several rejections and decided to keep on writing. I don’t regret Darkspell’s dormant time because I’ve written about 5 books since and TreasureLine found me!

5. Will there be more books to Darkspell? ( I hope that it is not a stand alone I would love to read more about Alex and Winter. ) If there is going to be more how many?

This is a loaded question for me, but to simply answer, yes, there will be more books to Darkspell. This is a loaded question because I’ve been writing for over 20 years and never once have I ever written a sequel to any of my books. Writing a second book is a challenge because it’s a different feel and approach to book-writing than just stand-alone writing! I’m planning on a trilogy, hoping for companion books that include the other characters. 

YAY I like the sound of that and I am sure many more readers will agree.

6. Do you have any authors that have inspired you if so whom?

The kind of authors that I find inspiring are the stay-at-home moms with kids. Having a family is a nonstop rollercoaster. Being a published author is a nonstop rollercoaster. Add the two together . . . well, it’s wild, that’s for sure! A few I can think of are Tristi Pinston, Jenni James and Stephenie Meyer.

7. Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I find that a very interesting question. I’ve always been a writer, it’s a way of being for me. Writing gave me the escapism I needed as a child and teen. Now, it’s pure therapy!

8. Anything you would like to say to your readers?

Yes! I hope you’re enjoying Darkspell!

Also, authors are needy creatures. We pour our soul into those books—you’re holding a piece of our heart! We love praise, if you ever come a cross a book you don’t like, it’s fantastic to be honest, but nice!

Just For Fun

TEA OR COFFEE ?

Uh, apple juice? I love Apple Juice Also

CHOCOLATE OR VANILLA?

Ooh, vanilla!

FAVORITE CANDY?

Anything cherry

FAVORITE READS?

All books by Michele Ashman Bell, Third by Abel Keogh, The Hidden Sun by J.L. Morgan, Bumpy Landings by Don Carey, Giants of the Frost by Kim Wilkins, and Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler

And I would like to thank you once again for doing this it was a pleasure reading Darkspell and talking with you.



You Can Find Elizabeth Mueller and her Novel Darkspell at the following Links
Elizabeth Mueller Website
Elizabeth On Twitter
Elizabeth On Facebook
Darkspell on Smashwords
Darkspell on Goodreads
Amazon Kindle
Signed and Numbered Copy of Darkspell
First 25 chapters for FREE

Giveaway

Onyx Cover Reveal

Monday, December 5, 2011

I am one of the lucky bloggers who get to be apart of the cover reveal of Onyx book 2 in the Lux Series by Jennifer L Armentrout.

here is the cover for Obsidian book 1 in the lux series

 Obsidian-500px-1 

Overview:   Starting over sucks.  When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.  And then he opened his mouth.  Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.  The hot alien living next door marks me.  You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.  If I don’t kill him first, that is.

and here is a close up of those breathtaking eyes of daemon Obsidian-mockup-2


and now finally the reveal of onyx book 2 in the lux series sure to be a must read of 2012


Onyx cover 1000 CORRECTED I know these covers are hawt you can’t help but stare at them and squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Book Swarm

Friday, December 2, 2011
The Book Swarm: Holiday Giveaway Hop

'via Blog this'

ShareThis